Quick Links



    1st Test: Eight-wicket win gives India the series lead

    Chennai: It took India nine overs to snap an obdurate last-wicket Australian stand, and 11.3 to achieve the 50 runs needed to claim a series lead. Australia came out on Sunday with a lead of 40 but were only able to nine to that before the No. 11 Nathan Lyon popped a catch to short leg, after which India lost their openers cheaply on the way to an eight-wicket victory at the MA Chidambaram Stadium.

    Lyon added three to his overnight total of 8 before he became Ravindra Jadeja's third wicket, leaving Moises Henriques not out on 81 and Australia with a second-innings total of 241. Set a target of 50, India lost Murali Vijay for 6, chipping a catch to Henriques at mid-off off James Pattinson, and Virender Sehwag for 19, edging Lyon to slip. Sachin Tendulkar strode out at 36 for 2 in the tenth over and swung the next two balls for six over long-on to hasten victory.

    A single off Lyon left India one runs to get and gave Tendulkar strike for the next over, but he played out a maiden from Peter Siddle with the field up to save the single. Victory duly arrived in the following over, as Cheteshwar Pujara edged Lyon over slip for the winning runs.

    With this win MS Dhoni has equalled Sourav Ganguly's record of most Test wins (21) as India's captain.