Quick Links



    3rd ODI: Bangladesh look to seal series

    After winning the first two one-dayers comprehensively, hosts Bangladesh will be hoping to wrap up the series when they take on West Indies in the third ODI at Mirpur on Wednesday.

    By all means, the one-day series has been a disappointment for the visitors and West Indies would be hoping to fightback at Mirpur to stay alive in the five-match series.

    On the other hand, Bangladesh are on a dream run and playing some brilliant cricket. They will surely hope to carry the momentum. The bowlers have managed to keep the West Indian batsmen including Chris Gayle at bay. The emergence of four newcomers in the side have also helped them alot. Opener and newcomer, Anamul Haque was the difference between the two sides in the last ODI as he despatched West Indies bowlers all across the park and also notched up his maiden century in his debut series.

    Skipper Mushfiqur Rahim has also shown good form so far as he played a match winning knock in the first ODI and Bangladesh will be hoping that once again their batting click as a unit at Mirpur. In the bowling department, Rubel Hossain and Shafiul Islam are both capable seamers and have plenty of experience to trouble West Indies batsmen once again.

    West Indies who were World Twenty20 winners a few months ago and have been in good from in Tests have struggled in the first two ODIs. Chris Gayle has failed to give them solid start and rest of the batting have also struggled. Windies dressing room will be hoping that swashbuckling opener finally finds his from on Thursday. Only bright thing for West Indies is Darren Barvo.

    The Windies bowlers have also struggled so far with their ace spinner Sunil Narine not able to find his feet in the subcontinent conditions. Narine's position is surely under threat, with Veerasammy Permaul's spin offering more control.

    Probable XIs

    Bangladesh: 1 Tamim Iqbal, 2 Anamul Haque, 3 Naeem Islam, 4 Nasir Hossain, 5 Mahmudullah, 6 Mushfiqur Rahim, 7 Mominul Haque, 8 Mashrafe Mortaza, 9 Sohag Gazi, 10 Abdur Razzak, 11 Rubel Hossain/Shafiul Islam

    West Indies: 1 Chris Gayle, 2 Lendl Simmons, 3 Darren Bravo, 4 Marlon Samuels, 5 Kieron Pollard, 6 Dwayne Smith, 7 Darren Sammy, 8 Devon Thomas, 9 Andre Russell, 10 Ravi Rampaul, 11 Sunil Narine/Veerasammy Permaul