Quick Links



    3rd ODI: SL-NZ once again pray for rain to keep away

    Rain remains the issue as Sri Lanka take on New Zealand in the third ODI at Kandy's Pallekele International Stadium Tuesday.After washouts in the one-off T20 and first ODI, Sri Lanka and New Zealand cricket authorities Friday agreed to shift the venue for the second and third one-day internationals from Colombo to Kandy but the move doesn't seem to have helped much.In the second ODI on Sunday, rain came twice as Sri Lanka won by 14 runs on the Duckworth Lewis Method. New Zealand, who showed a solid batting performance for 250 for 6 with captain Ross Taylor taking the lead with a brilliant 72, saw their efforts go to pot when the match was called off with Sri Lanka 118 for 3 in 22.5 overs.Clearly, it’s weather that is the primary concern right now. However, Sri Lanka definitely go in as favourites owing to their brilliant home record. But New Zealand have shown in the last match that with a little bit of luck they can get the desired result. Once again they need the coin to fall in their favour, post a total of about 250 and then they can go forward from there.However, there are a few concerns for the visitors ahead of the match: Taylor and Andrew Ellis apparently have come down with stomach bugs and they may not make it to full fitness in time. With nothing going their way, the Kiwis must be keeping their fingers crossed over the fitness of the two players, especially Taylor. Also, they would want Brendon McCullum to be fit for this match. The star wicketkeeper batsman could not play in the second ODI on account of a stiff lower back. Probable XIs:Sri Lanka: 1 Tillakaratne Dilshan 2 Upul Tharanga 3 Kumar Sangakkara (wk) 4 Mahela Jayawardene 5 Lahiru Thirimanne 6 Angelo Mathews 7 Jeevan Mendis 8 Thisara Perera 9 Nuwan Kulasekara 11 Lasith Malinga 12 Rangana Herath New Zealand: 1 Rob Nicol 2 Tom Latham/Brendon McCullum 3 BJ Watling 4 Ross Taylor 5 James Franklin 6 Nathan McCullum 7 Andrew Ellis 8 Kane Williamson 9 Kyle Mills 10 Tim Southee 11 Trent Boult