Quick Links



    3rd T20, Eng vs NZ: As it happened

    Live updates from the third Twenty20 international between New Zealand and England in Wellington.

    England innings:

    End of over 12.4: England thrash New Zealand by 10 wickets to clinch series 2-1. Such a superb batting display by England openers - Alex Hales and Michael Lumb. This was the most destructive and dominating reply from England to New Zealand. Hales and Lumb, stool tall and propelled England to a convincing Twenty20 victory. Lumb smashed Ian Butler for a huge six towards deep square leg to snatch the victory.

    End of over 11: 116 for 0: England batsman Alex Hales got a lifeline in Nathan McCullum's over, when he got dropped at the third man. But, giving a reply, Hales smashed three gigantic sixes and a boundary off McClenaghan's over. The England opener raced to his fifty off just 35 balls. McClenaghan has bowled 3 overs so far and gave away 38 runs with an economy of 12.66. England need 24 runs off 54 balls.

    End of over 8: 78 for 0: Everything seems going England's way at Wellington. Both the openers, Hales and Lumb, have laid the foundation for England as they have added 82 runs so far for the first wicket. England need another 62 runs in just 12 overs with 10 wickets in hand.

    End of over 4: 34 for 0: In reply to the NZ's 139, England openers Alex Hales and Michael Lumb are off to a strong start. Lumb smashed Trent Boult for two boundaries in the opening over of the innings. Lumb, then welcomed pacer Mitchell McClenaghan with two huge sixes in the fourth over. New Zealand need 106 runs from 16 overs. Hales 12*, Lumb 21*.

    New Zealand innings:

    End of over 20: Riding on a superb fifty by Martin Guptill, New Zealand set a defendable 140 runs target against England. Guptill smashed Dernbach over deep midwicket for a six to reach his fifty. Guptill hammered two fours and a six in his knock. For England, skipper Broad finishes with excellent figures of 3 for 15 from his four overs. New Zealand 139 for 8 in 20 overs.

    End of over 15: Wicket and 100 up for NZ. Stuart Broad's new spell resulted fruitful for England as he removes Colin Munro for 1, just after pacer Dernbach scalped Grant Elliott (15). Munro plays an ugly attempt to pull over the leg side off a short delivery by Broad but gets a top edge and gives an easy catch to Morgan at backward point. 100 up for New Zealand off 15.4 overs (94 balls).

    End of over 11: Wicket. The New Zealand veteran Ross taylor made a strong entry, hitting a huge six off Jow Root, but loses his wicket on the very next ball. Taylor tries to repeat the shot but unables to connect and gives a dolly to Bairstow at deep midwicket. Superb bowling from Root. He does it with his flighted delivery. New Zealand 73 for 3 in 11 overs.

    End of over 10: Wicket. James Tredwell removes Brendon McCullum to give second major wicket to England. McCullum tries to go over midwicket but gets a top edge, and gives an excellent catch to Bairstow at deep midwicket. It's a key wicket for New Zealand. New Zealand 62 for 2 in 9.3 overs.

    End of over 8: 50 up for New Zealand. Martin Guptill smashes James Tredwell towards long-on for a single to bring 50 runs for New Zealand. New Zealand moving up a gear at Wellington, just after they lost Rutherford. The 50 runs come off 48 balls. New Zealand 50 for 1 in 8 overs, Guptill 23* and McCullum 16*.

    End of over 4: Wicket. England pacer Stuart Broad gets first breakthrough for England, removes Hamish Rutherford for 11 runs. The New Zealand opener tries to play a pull shot off a short delivery by Broad, but gives an easy catch to Dernbach at short fine-leg. New Zealand 17 for 1 in 3.3 overs.

    Toss: England skipper Stuart Broad had won the toss and elected to field first against New Zealand. England made one change to their team, with Joe Root coming in for Samit Patel.

    On the other hand New Zealand gone with an unchanged side. The three match T20 series is level at 1-1.


    New Zealand: Martin Guptill, Hamish Rutherford, Brendon McCullum, Ross Taylor, Colin Munro, Grant Elliott, James Franklin, Nathan McCullum, Ian Butler, Trent Boult, Mitchell McClenaghan

    England: Michael Lumb, Alex Hales, Luke Wright, Jonny Bairstow, Eoin Morgan, Jos Buttler, Joe Root, Stuart Broad, James Tredwell, Steven Finn, Jade Dernbach