Quick Links



    All 16 countries announce U-19 WC squads

    Dubai: All the 16 countries taking part in the Under 19 Cricket World Cup have named their squads for the tournament to be held in Queensland, Australia from August 11-26.

    Australia will defend the title they won in Lincoln, New Zealand, in 2010. They will not only aim to win the trophy for the fourth time in nine events, but also try to match Pakistan's effort of winning back-to-back titles.

    Pakistan won the tournaments in 2004 and 2006 in Bangladesh and Sri Lanka respectively.

    India has also won the tournament twice -- in 2002 in Sri Lanka under Mohammad Kaif and in 2008 under the leadership of Virat Kohli -- while England's Owais Shah put his hands on the trophy in Johannesburg when South Africa staged the event in 1998.

    India will be captained by Delhi's opener Unmukt Chand who has scored 738 runs in 11 first-class matches. Other members of the side who have played first-class cricket include Tamil Nadu's top order batsman Baba Aparajith, left-arm spinner Harmeet Singh and opener Akhil Herwadkar, both from Mumbai, right-arm fast bowler Sandeep Sharma and opener Manan Vohra and Dehli's left-arm spinner Vikas Mishra.

    The Australia side, which will take on Pakistan in three 50-over matches from July 29 to August 3 on the Gold Coast in the lead up to the Under 19 World Cup, includes South Australia's top order batsman Travis Head, who played all his four first-class matches this season and scored 219 runs, and New South Wales' middle-order batsman Kurtis Patterson, who scored a smashing 157 against South Australia on his debut at the SCG in November last year.

    Pakistan, who reached the finals of the inaugural event in Australia in 1988 and then again in 2010 in New Zealand only to lose on both the occasions to Australia, have retained the same side that was declared joint winners with India after their Asia Cup final in Kuala Lumpur on July 1 ended in a tie.