Quick Links



    Amla returns as South Africa gear up for 3rd ODI against Pakistan

    After losing the second one-dayer by 66 runs, South Africa will take on Pakistan once again in the third ODI of five match series on Wednesday in Abu Dhabi. Visitors will be boosted by the return of star performer Hashim Amla. Amla, ranked second in Test batsmen rankings, left for home to attend the birth of his second child after the first of two Tests in the series which ended 1-1.

    Left-handed batsman Jean-Paul Duminy hoped Amla gives good starts to South Africa who were shot out for 183 and 143 in the first two one-day matches. "Hashim's return is a bonus but there's no guarantee that he will come and score runs. He's probably given us the best starts in the ODI format - he's the best in the world - so it's great to have him back," Duminy said.

    Dale Steyn is also likely to join the squad in time for the third match in Abu Dhabi after returning home for a rest before the one-day series. South Africa so far have failed to apply a game plan and batsmen have failed to capitalise on good starts. So visitors will be hoping that Amla's return give other batsmen boost as well.

    Shahid Afridi starred for Pakistan in the second ODI with 3 for 26 to add to his 20-ball 26 in Pakistan's comprehensive win. Besides Afridi, offspinner Saeed Ajmal took 2 for 15 and paceman Mohammad Irfan claimed 3 for 53 to complete Pakistan's stunning performance with the ball.

    Afridi said he hoped Pakistan's batting will click in the remaining matches. "The batting needs to be improved, it's a matter of applying ourselves, like the way Ahmed Shehzad is playing, so I am sure improvement will come," said Afridi.


    Pakistan: AB de Villiers (c/wk), Hashim Amla, Quinton de Kock (wk), Jean-Paul Duminy, Faf du Plessis, Imran Tahir, Ryan McLaren, David Miller, Morne Morkel, Wayne Parnell, Robin Peterson, Vernon Philander, Graeme Smith, Dale Steyn, Lonwabo Tsotsobe

    Bangladesh: Misbah-ul-Haq (c), Abdur Rehman, Ahmed Shehzad, Asad Shafiq, Junaid Khan, Mohammad Hafeez, Mohammad Irfan, Nasir Jamshed, Saeed Ajmal, Sarfraz Ahmed, Shahid Afridi, Sohaib Maqsood, Sohail Tanvir, Umar Akmal, Umar Amin, Wahab Riaz