Another humiliating defeat puts Delhi out of playoffs race

Cricketnext Staff | Updated: May 4, 2013, 10:58 PM IST
Another humiliating defeat puts Delhi out of playoffs race

Hyderabad: Delhi Daredevils needed to continue their winning momentum against Sunrisers Hyderabad on Saturday, but another humiliating defeat, their eighth in eleven matches, put paid to their hopes of reaching the playoffs of this season of the IPL.

The Hyderabad bowlers were accurate as they bowled out Delhi for just 80 in 19.1 overs. While the Hyderabad spinners never allowed the Delhi batsmen to get going, their pacemen picked up bulk of the wickets, with Dale Steyn, Darren Sammy and Thisara Perera getting two wickets each.

Chasing a meagre total, Shikhar Dhawan made full use of the pace offered by the Delhi bowlers on an otherwise very slow and turning track at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium. Dhawan (22), as he showed in the previous matches, was immaculate with his timing before being trapped leg before by Johan Botha. Ashish Reddy was sent up the order to make use of his hitting abilities, but was caught behind for just 3 off Ashish Nehra.

Parthiv Patel (13) couldn't pick the googly by Jeevan Mendis. Things got a little tricky when Kumar Sangakkara (8) got out for a nothing shot. Hanuma Vihari (11*) survived a caught behind shout in the same over in which Botha dismissed Sangakkara. But he and Darren Sammy (18*) ensured that Hyderabad got to their seventh victory with 37 balls to spare.

Earlier, the Delhi batsmen couldn't come to terms with the slow nature of the wicket, getting to their fifty in the 11th over.

Mahela Jayawardene (11), looking to break the shackles, was trapped leg before by Ishant Sharma. Another day, Virender Sehwag would have scored a fifty off 17 balls, but the nature of the wicket was such that he too couldn't find the ball from the middle of his bat and made just 8.

Unmukt Chand, the highest scorer for Delhi with 17, was castled by Steyn, while David Warner's (8) troubled stay at the crease was cut short by Amit Mishra. Kedar Jadhav (3) and Mendis (11) followed suit as Hyderabad bowlers never let them off the hook.

Perera chipped in with the wicket of Botha (1) and ended Delhi's innings by cleaning up Ashish Nehra (0).

First Published: May 4, 2013, 10:58 PM IST

Team Rankings

1 India 3925 123
2 South Africa 3050 117
3 Australia 3087 100
4 England 3362 99
5 New Zealand 3114 97
FULL Ranking