Quick Links



    As it happened: South A vs India A, Day 1

    India A First Innings:

    End of over No. 90: Rohit Sharma remained unbeaten on 70, while Ajinkya Rahane was not out on 11 as India A finished day one at 281 for 3. Cheteshwar Pujara, the India A skipper, made a brilliant 140. Medium pacers Wayne Parnell and Andrew Birch as well as offspinner Simon Harmer picked up one wicket each for the hosts.

    End of over No. 84: India A captain Cheteshwar Pujara departed after making a fine 140 off 205 balls. Left-arm medium pacer Wayne Parnell bowled the 25-year-old, who hit 17 fours during his knock that took India A to safety on day one. India A 270 for 3

    End of over No. 74: And a century for India A captain Cheteshwar Pujara who has looked totally at ease. Rohit, on the other end has notched up his fifty to put India A in a solid position. India A 213/2

    End of over No. 65: Rohit has calmly moved onto 34 and while Pujara looks set on 79. The partnership has accounted for 75 runs. India A 169/2

    End of over No. 58: Cheteshwar Pujara and Rohit Sharma have batting patiently and added 53 runs for the fourth wicket. Pujara 70* and Rohit 21* at Tea on Day 1.

    End of over No. 50 Pujara got to his half century. Rohit on the other end is taking his own sweet time scoring eight runs of 32 balls. India A 121/2

    End of over No. 38: Second wicket goes down for India A. Just when the runs seemed easy to come by, Vijay is out caught at slips for 44. Rohit Sharma is the new batsman. India A 94/2

    End of over No. 32: Murali Vijay and Chesteshwar Pujara aren't finding the going easy as the run-rate continues to crawl around 3 runs per over. India A 73/1

    End of over No. 28: After losing Shikhar Dhawan early, Murali Vijay (39*) and Cheteshwar Pujara (12*) played steady to reach 62 for 1 at lunch.

    End of over No. 25: India scoring a shade over two runs per over, but Vijay looking very solid at 38*, albeit tad slow in getting there off 80 balls. Captain Cheteshwar Pujara, who has come after Dhawan's departure, is at 5*. India A 54 for 1.

    End of over No. 17: Harmer strikes to give South Africa A their first breakthrough by removing an in-form Shikhar Dhawan for 11, caught at first slip. India A 28 for 1.

    End of over No. 13: Just two runs in the last four overs. South African bowlers giving nothing away, but not among the wickets yet. India A 16 for no loss.

    End of over No. 9: Watchful start by openers Murali Vijay and Shikhar Dhawan. India A 14 for no loss.

    TEAM NEWS: Here are the Playing XIs

    INDIA A: Pujara (capt), Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Suresh Raina, Ajinkya Rahane, Murali Vijay, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Shami Ahmed, Shahbaz Nadeem, Ishwar Pandey, Jaydev Unadkat. 12th man: Ambati Rayudu

    South Africa A: Justin Ontong (capt), Thami Tsolekile, Beuran Hendricks, Dean Elgar, Rilee Rossouw, JP Duminy, Temba Bavuma, Wayne Parnell, Simon Harmer, Kyle Abbott, Birch. 12th man: Vaughn van Jaarsveld

    TOSS: Cheteshwar Pujara wins the toss and India A opt to bat.

    VENUE: Olympia Park, Rustenburg. Cricket South Africa have made entry at the ground free. CSA tweeted: "Remember entry is free at Olympia Park in Rustenburg tomorrow. Great talent on show. Come and support our boys #SAAvINDA"

    India A winning the limited-overs triangular series last week was an achievement to be applauded, but the two unofficial Test matches against South Africa A are what the selectors will watch closely, for two reasons. One, they will hope that the Test specialists adapt to the conditions and two, they will be keen to identify probable players for the senior team's Test tour starting late November. READ COMPLETE STORY

    Incidentally India coach Duncan Fletcher is also in South Africa to oversee and make notes for the Test tour later this year. READ MORE