Quick Links



    As it happened: South Africa vs Australia, 2nd Test, Day 1

    (Scroll down to the bottom of the page to follow the ball-by-ball commentary)

    Toss and Team News: South Africa have won the toss and elected to bat. There are changes to the South African side, with Dean Elgar to open, Quinton de Kock makes his Test debut and Wayne Parnell will replace Ryan McLaren. While Australia are unchanged.

    The Australians were clearly superior in all three disciplines in their crushing 281-run victory in the first Test in Pretoria last week, the excellent Ashes form of fast bowler Mitchell Johnson repeated at SuperSport Park as he literally hurt the South African batsmen with 12 wickets and numerous body blows.


    Australia: Chris Rogers, David Warner, Alex Doolan, Shaun Marsh, Michael Clarke(c), Steven Smith, Brad Haddin(w), Mitchell Johnson, Peter Siddle, Ryan Harris, Nathan Lyon

    South Africa: Graeme Smith(c), Dean Elgar, Hashim Amla, Faf du Plessis, AB de Villiers, Jean-Paul Duminy, Quinton de Kock(w), Wayne Parnell, Vernon Philander, Dale Steyn, Morne Morkel