Quick Links



    As it happened: South Africa vs Pakistan, 1st ODI

    South Africa registered a massive 125-run victory over Pakistan in the first ODI at Bloemfontein here on Sunday. Colin Ingram's 105-run knock helped SA post 315 after which the pacers took center stage lead by Rory Kleinveldt (4/22), bundling out Pakistan for 190 in 36.2 overs. Colin Ingram was adjudged the man of the match.

    Read on for the updates from the match

    Pakistan innings:

    End of over No. 36.2: 190 all out Rory Kleinveldt finished off the match with his fourth wicket off the match in the form of Shahid Afridi off a short ball, but not before the maverick batsman hit a four and a massive six off Lonwabo Tsotsobe to entertain the crowd for a brief period. Farhan Behardien took a good diving catch at deep midwicket to take Afridi's catch.

    End of over No. 35: 179 for 9 Ryan McLaren inflicted further pain on Pakistan removing Kamran Akmal for two runs off ten balls courtesy another bouncer. Akmal top edged the ball to Smith at long leg. Shahid Afridi walked in next and immediately hit a six off Robin Peterson. Lonwabo Tsotsobe though got the wicket of Shoaib Malik with a slower delivery for 19. Afridi then hit a four and a massive six off one Rory Kleinveldt over. But Kleinveldt picked up Umar Gul and Saeed Ajmal in the same over as Pakistan slumped to 178 for 9.

    End of over No. 30: 144 for 5 Kyle Abbott got his first ODI wicket in the form of Younis Khan breaking a crucial partnership handing South Africa the advantage. Misbah ul Haq and Younis had compiled a 49-run stand in 58 balls. Younis went for a wide drive edging the ball to wicketkeeper AB de Villiers. Younis scored 30 runs before getting out. Shoaib Malik has joined Misbah in the middle. After Younis' wicket, Misbah clobbered a straight six off Lonwabo Tsotsobe and a boundary off Robin Peterson. But Ryan McLaren dismissed Misbah for 38. Misbah tried to guide the leg side ball towards fine leg but edged it to keeper de Villiers.

    End of over No. 25: 111 for 3 Misbah-ul-Haq and Younis Khan tried to rebuild the Pakistan innings as South African pacers, who had kept it tight giving away nothing earlier, faltered. Younis hit two boundaries of one Kyle Abbott over after which Misbah crashed Robin Peterson for two more boundaries in the next over as they upped the ante in chase of 315. Misbah is on 21 and Younis on 29.

    End of over No. 20: 77 for 3 Pakistan were pegged back with the loss of their third wicket in the 16th over. Asad Shafiq got out to Ryan McLaren for five runs as he was rushed on by a big bouncer hooking the ball down to fine leg fielder Kyle Abbott. Misbah-ul-Haq joined Younis Khan in the middle as the experienced duo went about rebuilding the innings.

    End of over No. 15: 61 for 2 Mohd Hafeez was run-out in an unlucky fashion for 25 in the 12th over after a lengthy deliberation by the third umpire. Younis Khan's straight drive hit the stumps at the non-striker's end with Hafeez backing up quite a long way. Bowler Rory Kleinveldt claimed to have got a touch on the ball and third umpire Billy Bowden adjudged Hafeez out after a very long delay. Asad Shafiq joined Younis Khan in the middle as Pakistan were not able to maintain their initial run-rate. Kleinveldt, Kyle Abbott and Ryan McLaren kept things tight for the hosts.

    End of over No. 10: 47 for 1 Nasir Jamshed was caught at first slip by Graeme Smith after scoring 25 off Rory Kleinveldt in the 8th over. Mohd Hafeez was dropped at point in the previous over by Faf du Plessis. Younis Khan is the new batsman in. Hafeez is batting on 22 off 36 balls.

    End of over No. 5: 28 for 0
    Chasing a huge total of 315, Pakistan openers - Mohd Hafeez and Nasir Jamshed - have started well. Jamshed hit Kyle Abbott for consecutive boundaries in the 4th over as Hafeez looked content with rotating the strike. Jamshed is not out on 15 whereas Hafeez is batting on 13.

    South Africa innings:

    End of over No. 50: 315 for 4 Colin Ingram drove Umar Gul between mid-off and cover for four to complete his third century - second against Pakistan, while Farhaan Behardien too played a cameo (34 off 14) to take South Africa to a huge 315. South Africa scored 58 runs in the last five overs.

    End of over No. 46: 265 for 3 Colin Ingram played a late cut for four off Umar Gul as the left-hander approached towards his century. Faf du Plessis too played his part, playing an array of sweep shots, making the bowlers to err in their lines.

    End of over No. 42: 241 for 3 Shahid Afridi was taken for 21 runs in one over as Colin Ingram and Faf du Plessis struck five fours between them. Ingram hit two boundaries, while du Plessis put three balls to the fence.

    End of over No. 37: 205 for 3 AB de Villiers played one shot too many. After hitting Shahid Afridi for a boundary over extra cover in the previous over, he chipped Saeed Ajmal straight to Younis Khan at covers. De Villiers made 65 off just 63 balls.

    AB de Villiers c Younis Khan b Saeed Ajmal 65 (63)

    End of over No. 32: 176 for 2 Ab de Villiers struck his first boundary when he chipped Shoaib Malik between deep square leg and midwicket. Colin Ingram swept Saeed Ajmal for his third four and crashed him through point for another boundary. He pushed Junaid Khan for a single to third man to bring up his fifty.

    End of over No. 26: 137 for 2 Colin Ingram and AB de Villiers found singles and doubles at regular intervals as South Africa surged ahead after losing two quick wickets. While Ingram struck two fours in his unbeaten innings, de Villiers was in twenties without a boundary to his name.

    End of over No. 20: 103 for 2: Hashim Amla tried to play sweep but was caught at deep square leg by Shoaib Malik. AB de Villiers punched Afridi to deep cover for a single in the 20th over as South Africa reached 100.

    Amla c Shoaib Malik b Mohammad Hafeez 43 (43)

    End of over No. 14: 73 for 1: Graeme Smith tried to execute a reverse-paddle off Ajmal but the ball bounced a bit more than he anticipated and hit the glove before Kamran Akmal poached a simple catch.

    Graeme Smith c Kamran Akmal b Saeed Ajmal 30 (47)

    End of over No. 10: 50 for 0 Hashim Amla got a chance when a diving Mohammad Hafeez couldn't hold on to a catch at backward point off Junaid Khan. Amla was on 15 when he was dropped. Graeme Smith, meanwhile, disturbed the bowlers' line by shuffling across his stumps. He drove and pulled Junaid for boundaries.

    End of over No. 5: 15 for 0 Pakistan opening bowlers - Junaid Khan and Umar Gul - didn't offer any freebies to the South Africa openers - Graeme Smith and Hashim Amla. Gul was particularly impressive bowling to Smith, beating the former South Africa ODI captain outside his offstump. Amla, on the other hand, too survived a few close leg before shouts by Junaid, but the classy batsman got off the mark with a cover drive on the up for four. He pulled Junaid for another boundary in his next over.

    Toss and team news:

    Pakistan won the toss and elected to field. Kyle Abbott debuted for South Africa, while Shoaib Malik returned to the side for Pakistan.

    South Africa: Graeme Smith, Hashim Amla, Colin Ingram, AB de Villiers(w/c), Faf du Plessis, Farhaan Behardien, Ryan McLaren, Robin Peterson, Rory Kleinveldt, Kyle Abbott, Lonwabo Tsotsobe

    Pakistan: Nasir Jamshed, Mohammad Hafeez, Younis Khan, Asad Shafiq, Misbah-ul-Haq(c), Shoaib Malik, Kamran Akmal(w), Shahid Afridi, Umar Gul, Saeed Ajmal, Junaid Khan