Quick Links



    Aus-India, 3rd Test, Day 1: as it happened

    Australia First Innings:

    3:30 Australia trail India by just 12 runs at the end of day one with openers David Warner (104*) and Ed Cowan (40*) at the crease.

    3:15 David Warner brought up his century off 69 balls with a six off Vinay Kumar.

    3:05 Warner is struck on the helmet by a Umesh Yadav bouncer and the physio has been called up.

    2:50 Warner is nearing his century as Australia look on course to cross India's first innings total of 161.

    2:35: India waiting for things to happen as Ishant Sharma comes into the attack.

    2:25 p.m. Warner reaches half-century in just 36 balls with Australia scoring at more than 6.5 runs per over.

    2:17 p.m. India's bowling looking pedestrian. Even Zaheer Khan isn't looking menacing and Warner taking advantage of it as Australia reach 57/0 off just nine overs.

    2:07 p.m. David Warner is at his his best, hitting Vinay Kumar for a straight six. He is scoring more than run-a-ball. His partner, Ed Cowan, is playing second fiddle.

    1:52 p.m Australian openers David Warner and Ed Cowan make a solid start.

    India First Innings

    1:28 p.m. All over! India all out for 161! Ishant Sharma is the last man to depart, caught behind. Hilfenhaus continues to torment India with 4/43 while Siddle took three. India's back well and truly to the wall! Now up to the bowlers.

    1:20 p.m. Hilfenhaus wins the cat and mouse game with Zaheer. It didn't take long for the ball to take an edge off Zaheer's adventurous heave-hos to give Australia the ninth Indian wicket for 157.

    Zaheer Khan c Clarke b Hilfenhaus 2 (11)

    1:10 p.m. The procession continues with Dhoni. Hilfenhaus doesn't take long to strike after tea as Dhoni's nervous poke outside the off-stump takes the edge and the catch is completed by Ponting. It's 152 for 8.

    MS Dhoni c Ponting b Hilfenhaus 12 (22)

    1:05 p.m. Starc joins the fun! Vinay Kumar is the casualty. The in-swinger strikes him right in front. Australia showing no mercy, India 152 for 7.

    R Vinay Kumar lbw b Starc 5 (4)

    12:40 p.m. Tea! Another session to Australia. 71 runs conceded, two wickets taken. India 144 for 6 with Dhoni and Vinay Kumar at the crease.

    12:35 p.m. Out! Laxman follows Kohli to put India in deep trouble. Siddle once again it is; his third wicket of the day as Clarke collects the edge in the slips. 138 for 6!

    VVS Laxman c Clarke b Siddle 31 (86)

    12:20 p.m. Commentators curse! Just when we spoke of India coming back with a fifty partnership, Kohli loses focus to drive away from his body to Siddle, resulting in a slice that was held by Warner at point. 131 for 5. Dhoni comes in!

    Virat Kohli c Warner b Siddle 44 (81)

    12:10 p.m. Fifty partnership! Fall of wickets has finally been stemmed by Laxman and Kohli's stay in the middle, which must have calmed a few nerves in the Indian dressing room. But India need a minimum of 350 runs to make a match of it.

    11:40 a.m. Laxman and Kohli have added some respectability to the Indian innings as the scoreboard now reads 104/4 in 43 overs.

    11:15 a.m. India continue to struggle for runs after lunch against a disciplined Aussie seam attack. More importantly though, Laxman and Kohli have prevented further loss of wickets in the first half an hour after the break. 89 for 4.

    10 a.m. Lunch! It's all Australia on the first morning as India stare down the barrel after losing four wickets for just 73 runs in the first session following Australia's decision to bowl first. Virat Kohli (10) and VVS Laxman (4) are at the crease.

    9:53 a.m. Gambhir walks back! Hilfenhaus gets his second wicket and India are reeling here now as Gambhir nicks one straight to Haddin. India 63 for 4.

    Gautam Gambhir c Haddin b Hilfenhaus 31 (82)

    9:45 a.m. Body blow! Harris removes Tendulkar. The well-pitched delivery moves in a fraction late to strike Tendulkar's pads and umpire Kumar Dharmasena raises his finger.

    Sachin Tendulkar lbw b Harris 15 (25)

    9:35 a.m. Tendulkar has begun well, and Gambhir, though still scratchy, has took the Indian score past fifty. Still 25 minutes to go before lunch.

    8:55 a.m. Siddle removes Dravid. Once again, Dravid is bowled in this series, leaving further holes in 'The Wall'. Siddle comes in and surprises India's No. 3 with a yorker that deflects from Dravid's pads onto the stumps. India once again under the pump at 32 for 2.

    Rahul Dravid b Siddle 9 (35)

    8:40 a.m. It's a struggle out there for Gambhir and Dravid. With Harris and Hilfenhaus bowling in the corridor, runs are coming at a premium. It's 14 for 1 after 10 overs.

    8:15 a.m. Sehwag caught in the slips! The Indian opener's nervous prod to Hilfenhaus finds the edge that is pouched in the slips by Ricky Ponting. It took Australia just four balls to dismiss Sehwag for naught. India 4 for 1.

    V Sehwag c Ponting b Hilfenhaus 0 (4)

    8:10 a.m. Indian openers are quite evidently wary of the grass on this WACA track. A few play-and-misses in the opening exchanges. The nervousness is easily palpable.

    7:30 a.m. Good morning! We are at Perth, the venue where India roared in 2008. But like then, this time too they are 2-0 down going into the third match of the four-Test series. Will they roar again? The build up begins in another 30 minutes.

    Michael Clarke won the toss and had no hesitation whatsoever in opting to bowl on a grass-laden WACA track.

    Both the teams have gone in with four-pronged face attack. Vinay Kumar replaces R Ashwin for India, while Ryan Harris comes in for Nathan Lyon and Mitchell Starc replaces the injured James Pattinson for the hosts.

    Australia: Ed Cowan, David Warner, Shaun Marsh, Ricky Ponting, Michael Clarke (c), Michael Hussey, Brad Haddin (wk), Ben Hilfenhaus, Peter Siddle, Mitchell Starc, Ryan Harris.

    India: Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar, VVS Laxman, Virat Kohli, MS Dhoni (c/wk), Zaheer Khan, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Vinay Kumar

    Full Scorecard