Quick Links



    Aus vs Ind, 1st T20: as it happened

    India Innings:

    20th over: It's all over for India as they go down by 31 runs. Australia take 1-0 lead in the 2-match series.

    MS Dhoni made a brave 48 not out but it was not enough. For Australia, David Hussey and Daniel Christian took two wickets each.

    18th over: Dhoni is taking the attack to the Australian bowlers but still the asking rate is going up. India are 124/6. Need another 48 to win.

    16th over: India 110 for 6. Need another 62 to win. Dhoni sends Indian fans into a frenzy with a six off Christian.

    14th over: Jadeja out. Gives a skier to Warner at long-off while attempting to hit Christian out of the ground. India (86/6) stare a big defeat in the face.

    Jadeja c Warner b Christian 7 (8)

    12th over: Bowled! Raina walks back!

    Raina b Christian 14 (15)

    9th over: Disaster for India as David Hussey bowls Rohit Sharma for a duck. The visitors are 58 for four.

    Rohit Sharma b Hussey 0

    7th over: Now Kohli departs! Warner takes a good catch at long-on as Kohli's pull shot does not come good off comeback veteran Brad Hogg.

    Kohli c Warner b Hogg 22

    6th over: Gambhir departs. The left-hander finds Mitchell Marsh at cover while attempting to clear the in-field.

    Gambhir c Marsh b Hussey 20 (14)

    3rd over: India are 28/1, Kohli sends Lee into the stands. Bravo!

    1st over: Brett Lee removes Sehwag for 4 on the fourth ball. India 6 for 1. The opener flashes at a wide one that finds an edge which is safely pouched by David Hussey at first slip.

    Sehwag c Hussey b Lee 4 (3)

    4 p.m. Have Australia got enough or did the rain help India restrict the hosts to a manageable target? What's your take?

    Australia Innings

    20th over: Australia 171 for 4. Hussey was the fourth wicket to fall, failing to connect his slog off a flatter delivery bowled by Rahul. But Australia may have got enough, courtesy Matthew Wade (72) and David Hussey (42).

    Rahul, Raina, Vinay and Ashwin took one wicket apiece.

    David Hussey b R Sharma 42 (30)

    18th over: Australia 156 for 3. Hussey is opening his shoulders now for a final flourish. Two overs left!

    16th over: Suresh Raina cleans up Wade for 72. Success for India just after the rain break! Australia 137 for 3.

    Wade b Raina 72(43)

    3:26 p.m.: Play should resume in another 10 minutes if there is no further rain. Groundstaff in action.

    15th over: Rain Delay! Umbrellas are out in the stands. Players walk off. Australia 131 for 2 in 14.4 overs.

    13th over: Wade reaches maiden T20 fifty with a six off Ravindra Jadeja. It comes off 34 balls. 17 runs from the over. The Australians (105/2) are on top.

    10th over: Birt departs off the last ball of Ashwin's spell. Australia 79 for 2. The left-hander gives Raina an easy catch in the covers. Rahul Sharma is back on the field.

    Travis Birt c Raina b Ashwin 17

    9th over: Rahul Sharma drops Birt (15) off his own bowling. Seems to have ruptured his webbing. Blood all over. He leaves the field and Rohit Sharma will bowl the last two balls. India could be a bowler short now.

    8th over: Now Wade joins the party, smacks Ashwin for a six over long-on. Australia 66 for one.

    6th over: Birt hits Vinay for a six over long-off to end the powerplay overs. Australia 55 for 1.

    4th over: Vinay sends Warner back! India break through!

    The left-hander miscues a fullish delivery which results in a skier that was easily lapped up by Suresh Raina at extra cover. Australia 38 for 1.

    David Warner c Raina b Vinay Kumar 25 (14)

    3rd Over: Australia 28 for no loss. Warner hits Ashwin for a six over long-off and believe it or not, it's a switch hit! Follows it up with a four and another six. Warner is partying!

    1st Over: Dhoni starts with Ashwin! Australia 2 for no loss.

    1:30 p.m. India win the toss, will bowl first.

    India: Gautam Gambhir, Virender Sehwag, Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Suresh Raina, MS Dhoni(w/c), Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Rahul Sharma, Vinay Kumar, Praveen Kumar

    Australia: David Warner, Mathew Wade, Travis Birt, David Hussey, George Bailey (captain), Mitchell Marsh, Daniel Christian, J Faulkner, Brad Hogg, Brett Lee, Xavier Doherty

    1:20 p.m. Welcome to the first T20 between India and Australia at the ANZ Stadium in Sydney. A little over ten minutes to go for the toss.

    The pitch looks quite dry despite rain over the last few days. Ian Chappell predicts some uneven bounce, while Wasim Akram says it's a batsman's pitch.

    Full Scorecard