Quick Links



    Australia include Coulter-Nile, Rohrer for WI T20

    Melbourne: Australia named a new-look squad for a one-off Twenty20 international against West Indies to be played in Brisbane on Wednesday, picking up Western Australian fast bowler Nathan Coulter-Nile, and New South Wales' batsman Ben Rohrer for the first time. New South Wales' pacer Josh Hazlewood, who has played one ODI for the national side, was also drafted in.

    The changes were made considering most of the regular players - Matthew Wade, David Warner (who is also recovering from a thumb injury), Mitchell Starc, Glenn Maxwell and Xavier Doherty - will be in India at that time preparing for the first Test in Chennai starting February 22.

    Experienced Brad Haddin also return after a gap of 18 months. The wicketkeeper batsman retired from T20 internationals in September 2011 in order to concentrate more on Tests and 50 overs cricket. But though Wade has overtaken him in all formats, he still remains selectors' next choice for the role.

    George Bailey will be leading the 15-man squad. Aaron Finch is expected to open the innings with Shaun Marsh, while Adam Voges, another highly-rated cricketer from Western Australia, has also been given an opportunity.

    Australia Twenty20 squad: Aaron Finch, Shaun Marsh, George Bailey (capt), Adam Voges, Ben Rohrer, Brad Haddin (wk), Ben Cutting, Nathan Coulter-Nile, James Faulkner, Clint McKay, Ben Laughlin, Josh Hazlewood.