Quick Links



    Bangladesh looking to continue good form in T20

    After winning the ODI series 3-0 against New Zealand, hosts Bangladesh will be geared up for the only T20 and will be looking to fix their disastrous form in the shortest format of the game. Team from the sub continent have lost six of their last seven T20s that also includes the defeat at the hands of Netherlands and Scotland.

    Bowling was one of the main reason for Bangladesh's superb performance in the one-dayers. Likes of Abdur Razzak, Mahmudullah, Naeem Islam, Sohag Gazi and Mushfiqur Rahim performed exceptionally well and were consistent throughout the series and they will be hoping to continue the same form in T20 as well. In the batting department, Nasir Hossain will be key for the home side. He is becoming Bangladesh's finisher in one-day cricket and management would be hoping he can continue with his run in Twenty20s. He's a dangerous batsman in the end overs and Kiwi bowlers surely be having a keen eye on him.

    Opener Tamim Iqbal has been ruled out with a stomach strain and the skipper Mushfiqur hinted that Soumya Sarkar could make his Twenty20 debut.

    On the other hands, New Zealand have a decent record in this format and could use this match an opportunity to end the tour on a positive note, after failing to win a Test and losing the ODIs 3-0. With Brendon McCullum out due to injury, Kyle Mills will be once again leading the side. Batsman showed some good signs in the last one-dayers and posted a good total on the board but in the end were let down by the poor bowling.

    Kiwis found an exciting opening combination that clicked in the final ODI the visitors will be using the same pair once again. The middle order batted as well, so they might not be changing th batting line-up. In the bowling department Mills might be tempted to bring in Tim Southee for Mitchell McClenaghan.


    Bangladesh: Soumya Sarkar, Shamsur Rahman, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mominul Haque, Naeem Islam, Nasir Hossain, Mahmudullah, Sohag Gazi, Abdur Razzak, Mashrafe Mortaza, Rubel Hossain

    New Zealand: Anton Devcich, Tom Latham, Grant Elliott, Ross Taylor, Luke Ronchi, Corey Anderson, Colin Munro, Nathan McCullum, Tim Southee, Kyle Mills, 11 Adam Milne