Quick Links



    BCCI approves revision of Ranji Trophy format

    New Delhi: The BCCI working committee on Monday approved the recommendations of the special committe on the revision of the Ranji Trophy format.In the upcoming Ranji season, 27 teams will be divided into three groups of nine sides each. Then the top three teams of each group will qualify for the knockout stage. From now on, the inter-state tournament for the Under-22s will be referred to as the ‘A’ teams tournament, and will feature cricketers in the Under-25 age-group. Moreover, the BCCI has tweaked the NKP Salve Trophy, which will now feature the winners of the Vijay Hazare Trophy, and two teams to be picked by the All-India Senior Selection Committee.The technical committee headed by Sourav Ganguly and the special committee comprising of another former captain Anil Kumble, among others, had recommended some sweeping changes in the domestic cricket structure on June 12.