Quick Links



    BCCI to reward Wasim Jaffer, Amol Muzumdar and other domestic stars

    New Delhi: Five veteran domestic cricketers, four of whom have represented India, have been included in an extension of the one-time payment the BCCI gave to former players. They are Wasim Jaffer, Sanjay Bangar, Sairaj Bahutule, S Sriram and Amol Muzumdar; the first four represented India while Muzumdar remains the Ranji Trophy's second-highest run-getter after Jaffer.

    "Those cricketers who retired before 2003-04 had got the one-time benefit," Ravi Savant, the BCCI treasurer, told Mid-day. "There were few who retired after that, so the board felt it would extend the scheme to these players."

    The biggest gainer from this announcement was Jaffer, who has played 31 Tests and 211 first-class matches, though he will only receive the payment after he retires. He stands to get Rs 60 lakh, while Muzumdar, who has appeared in 166 first-class matches, will receive Rs 30 lakh.

    Those to have retired from cricket are Bangar, Bahutule and Sriram, making them eligible for immediate payment. Bangar, who quit in January, played 12 Tests and 15 ODIs for India. Bahutule, the former legspinner, got two Test and eight ODIs caps while Sriram, a batsman from Tamil Nadu, played eight ODIs between 2000-2004.

    The scheme had been announced by the BCCI in 2012, and benefitted around 160 players. The board had subsequently distributed cheques to former players during the playoffs matches in the 2013 IPL. Under the BCCI's scheme, cricketers who have played more than 100 Test matches got Rs 1.5 crores while those who have played between 75 and 99 Tests will receive Rs 1 crore.

    The scheme, first announced at the IPL 2012 opening ceremony, had benefited around 160 former cricketers. The payments were made in seven categories, with the top payments going to players who had played more than 100 Tests.