Bengal thrash Assam, move into quarters

Updated: February 29, 2012, 9:43 PM IST
Bengal thrash Assam, move into quarters

Kolkata: Bengal displayed an all-round show to notch a bonus point victory over Assam by 69 runs and storm into the quarterfinals of the Vijay Hazare Trophy, having topped the East Zone leg of the tournament.

After getting all out for 236 in 46.1 overs, Bengal managed to bundle out Assam for 167 in 42.3 overs to bag a bonus point and top the pool with 19 points.

Opting to bat first, Bengal rode on a 79-run third wicket stand between Shreevats Goswami (69 off 84 balls, 9x4, 1x6) and Wriddhiman Saha (72 off 60 balls, 7x4, 2x6) to reach a decent total of 236.

Skipper Sourav Ganguly, who was down with fever, missed this match.

Assam's left-arm spinner Deepak Gohain (3 for 62) was the pick of the bowlers, while Gokul Sharma and Tarjinder Singh scalped two wickets each.

Chasing the target, Assam struggled to get a partnership going after their veteran opener Dheeraj Jadhav (16) was dismissed by Mohammad Shami Ahmed.

Assam made the preliminary quarterfinals by finishing second with 12 points.

While in another match, Orissa beat defending champions Jharkhand by five wickets in an insignificant match of the East Zone leg at the Jadavpur University .

Put into bat, Jharkhand scored 254 for six in their allotted 50 overs, which Orissa achieved comfortable in just 42.3 overs.

For Jharkhand, Kumar Deobrat (72), skipper Saurabh Tiwary (57) and Subroto Ghosh (48) chipped in with valuable runs.

Orissa got off to a brisk start with opener Paresh Patel hitting a 87-ball 79 (11x4, 1x6) before they were reduced to 186 for five in the 34th over.

But an undefeated 69-run stand by Sujit Lenka and Bibhudutta Panda steered Orissa home with 45 balls to spare.

First Published: February 29, 2012, 9:43 PM IST

Team Rankings

1 India 3925 123
2 South Africa 3050 117
3 Australia 3087 100
4 England 3362 99
5 New Zealand 3114 97
FULL Ranking