Quick Links



    BPL: Taylor wins it for Chittagong Kings

    Chittagong: Chittagong Kings skipper Brendan Taylor led from the front and cracked an unbeaten 69 to power his team to a eight-wicket victory over Khulna Royal Bengals on Friday. Taylor won the toss and put Khulna Royals to bat. His bowlers ratified his decision and restricted the opposition to 136 for 5 in 20 overs.

    Enamul Haque jnr displayed a fine bowling performance as he chalked up three wickets for 28 in four overs. Mahmudullah and Kevon Cooper were economical and conceded just 13 and 22 overs in three and four overs respectively. From the batting team, Travis Birt played a fine cameo of 25 off 17 balls while Riki Wessels chipped in with 35 off 32 balls.

    Chittagong Kings lost their openers - Ravi Bopara and Naeem Islam - early but Taylor and Ryan ten Doeschate (41 off 34 balls) forged an borken stand of 93 runs for the third wicket to steer their team home. Taylor blasted seven boundaries and one six.

    This is Chittagong Kings' second victory of the tournament and they are at the fourth position in the points table.

    Earlier in the day, Dhaka Gladiators beat Duronto Rajshahi in a Bangladesh Premier League match and carried on with their good form in the tournament. After winning the toss, Dhaka chose to bat first and made a fighting 137 for 5 in their 20 overs. Rajshahi fell 13 runs short in their reply as all the Dhaka bowlers played a crucial role.

    Soumya Sarkar and Md. Ashraful opened the innings for Dhaka but Ashraful (1) went back in the hut quickly; then Sarkar (30 off 24) and Anamul Haque (25 off 18) steadied the ship. Later Owais Shah took them to 137 with his steady knock of 43 off 40 balls.

    In reply, Tamim Iqbal gave a brilliant start to rajshahi with his scintillating knock of 33 in just 18 balls. Unfortunately, No other top-order batsmen helped him. Later Kapugedera made 31 off 29 balls but it was too late by then. Rajshahi finished their innings at 124 for 9.

    AC Thomas was given the Man-Of-The -Match award for his splendid spell of bowling. He picked up two crucial wickets in his four overs and gave away only 15 runs.