Quick Links



    CA gets states' backing for rejig

    Melbourne: Cricket Australia has won the support of its six state associations for its largest administrative re-organization in a century, cutting its ruling board from 14 to nine members.

    States will elect six of those nine members while three will be independent. Cricket Australia chairman Wally Edwards was one of the directors appointed by the states on Friday along with John Bannon, Earl Eddings, Dr Harry Harinath, Michael Kasprowicz and Tony Harrison.

    The changes are designed to make the governing body more professional, and will be fully effective from Cricket Australia's annual meeting on Oct. 25.

    Edwards said the changes were the biggest to Australian cricket's governance since Cricket Australia was founded in 1905 as the Australian Board of Control for International Cricket.