Quick Links



    Cardiff to host 2015 Ashes opener

    England's bid to regain the Ashes next year will begin with the first Test at Cardiff's Sophia Gardens, the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) announced on Monday.

    Cardiff, which also hosted the Ashes opener in 2009, will get the five-Test series underway from July 8-12 with matches following at Lord's, Edgbaston, Trent Bridge and the Oval.

    England will also play Tests against New Zealand at Lord's and Headingley next year along with five one-day internationals and a Twenty20 international against both touring parties.

    Australia will warm up for the Ashes with four-day matches against Kent and Essex and will play three-day games against Derbyshire and Northants during the series.

    England have won the last three Ashes series on home soil but relinquished the famous urn in ignominious circumstances with a 5-0 drubbing in Australia around the New Year.