Charlotte Edwards to lead World T20 XI for second time

Press Trust of India | Updated: April 7, 2014, 2:20 PM IST
Charlotte Edwards to lead World T20 XI for second time

Dhaka: Finalists England and Australia contributed a total of six players to the ICC World T20 2014 women's team of the tournament, which was announced here on Monday, with England's Charlotte Edwards named captain for the second consecutive time.

Chosen by a select group of experts, the team was selected for its suitability for Bangladesh conditions and on the basis of performances in the tournament only. Statistics were used but were not the sole basis for selections.

In all, two players from champion Australia were selected, while runner-up England had four representatives in the side. The team also features two players from West Indies, and one player each from Bangladesh, India and New Zealand.

Commenting on the side, chairman of the independent jury and member of the Emirates Elite Panel of ICC Match Referees, David Boon, said: "This year's tournament again demonstrated the incredible depth of talent across women's cricket.

Selecting one team of 11 players was a tough task as we saw standout performances from many players.

"The selection criteria are the performances of players in the conditions here in Bangladesh during the ICC World Twenty20 2014, so some of the world's best players had to be left out.

"The side reflects the effectiveness of bowlers throughout the tournament, with four specialist bowlers, including Bangladesh spinner Salma Khatun, as well as four allrounders and three specialist batters who have performed consistently throughout the tournament."

Women's team of the tournament (in batting order):

Suzie Bates (New Zealand): 228 runs, five wickets

Charlotte Edwards (England - captain): 200 runs

Meg Lanning (Australia): 257 runs

Sarah Taylor (England - wicketkeeper): 150 runs, six dismissals

Stafanie Taylor (West Indies): 153 runs, one wicket

Deandra Dottin (West Indies): 147 runs, four wickets

Ellyse Perry (Australia): 106 runs, eight wickets

Natalie Sciver (England): 10 wickets

Salma Khatun (Bangladesh): eight wickets

Poonam Yadav (India): eight wickets

Anya Shrubsole (England): 12 wickets

12th Player: Shabnim Ismail (South Africa): seven wickets.

First Published: April 7, 2014, 2:20 PM IST

Team Rankings

1 India 3925 123
2 South Africa 3050 117
3 Australia 3087 100
4 England 3362 99
5 New Zealand 3114 97
FULL Ranking