Quick Links



    Chittagong Kings edge out Sylhet Royals to enter final

    Mirpur: Chittagong Kings pipped Sylhet Royals by three wickets on Monday in the semi-final of Bangladesh Premier League to enter the final where they will lock horns with Dhaka Gladiators on Tuesday. Mahmudullah, the captain of Chittagong Kings, won the toss and opted to field. His bowlers vindicated the decision by reducing the opposition to 68 for 4 in 12 overs. But Mushfiqur Rahim, Sylhet Royals' sipper, and Elton Chigumbura played breezy cameos in the end to propel their team to a respectable total of 149 for 7 in 29 overs.

    Chigumbura was particularly explosive and reeled off an unbeaten 42 off just 25 balls. His innings was studded with three sixes and three boundaries as the Sylhet Royals collected 20 runs off the last over. Chittagong Kings got off to a poor start and lost two wickets in first two overs. Jason Roy and Ravi Bopara departed without contributing anything of note. Narul Hasan and Naeem Islam added 56 runs for the third wicket to steady the innings but they fell in quick succession.

    Ryan ten Doeschate stepped up and played a blazing innings to steer him team to the victory. He remained unbeaten on 44, which came off 28 balls, as Chittagong Kings squeaked home in the 19.1 overs. Ariful Haque chipped in with a vital contribution of 23 runs and added 50 runs with ten Doeschate, who was adjudged Man of the Match, for the sixth wicket.