Quick Links



    CLT20: Know your teams - Part One

    In the lead-up to the 2012 Champions League Twenty20, we take a look at seven of the 14 teams in content_cnion for the tournament. Today: Auckland Aces, Chennai Super Kings, Delhi Daredevils, Hampshire, Kolkata Knight Rider, Highveld Lions and Mumbai Indians. Auckland AcesQualification: Winners, HRV CupCaptain: Gareth HopkinsStar value: Martin Guptill, Lou Vincent, Andre Adams, Azhar MahmoodThe Auckland Aces made it to the CLT20 qualifying tournament after they won the HRV Cup beating Canterbury Wizards in the final by 44 runs in January. Led by former New Zealand wicketkeeper Gareth Hopkins, the Aces lack international value with only a handful of players with experience at the top level. Much of their success will rest on the role of their top order, including current and former New Zealand openers Martin Guptill and Lou Vincent, as well as the all-round efforts of Andre Adams who has enjoyed much success over the past few years in county cricket. This is Auckland’s second trip to the CLT20 after a win-less qualifiers last year. Chennai Super KingsQualification: Runners-up, IPL 5Captain: MS DhoniStar value: MS Dhoni, Suresh Raina, Michael Hussey, Dwayne Bravo, Albie MorkelThis will be CSK's fourth appearance in the CLT20, having won the second edition in 2010. Arguably the strongest Twenty20 franchise in the world, CSK owe their success to a close-knit unit in which the owners have retained much faith. With Dhoni as leader and proven Twenty20 match-winners in the ranks, this is the team to beat. Having failed to win the title in IPL 5, Dhoni's team will be out to gain lost ground with another strong show in South Africa where they won the trophy two years ago. Delhi DaredevilsQualification: Fourth place in IPL 5Captain: Mahela JayawardeneStar value: Mahela Jayawardene, Kevin Pietersen, Morne Morkel, Irfan Pathan, David Warner, Ross Taylor, Virender Sehwag.A strong Twenty20 side boasting a tremendous batting line-up and quality bowlers, Delhi go into the CLT20 as one of the favourites – should Virender Sehwag be passed fit. They did well in IPL 5 before losing their way at the end, but with Kevin Pietersen, David Warner and Ross Taylor available for the entire tournament they will be a serious threat to opposition teams. HampshireQualification: Winner, Friends Life t20Captain: Dimitri MascarenhasStar value: Shahid Afridi, Dimitri MascarenhasHampshire, winners of the England’s domestic Twenty20 competition, will hope to progress from the CLT20 qualifiers into the proper tournament in their first appearance. Pooled with Auckland and Sialkot Stallions, this team has its task cut out. Lacking international experience, Hampshire will rely heavily on Dimitri Mascarenhas, opener Michael Carberry, former Zimbabwe allrounder Sean Ervine and Shahid Afridi. Also in their ranks is the spin-bowling allrounder Glenn Maxwell, part of Australia’s squad at the ICC World Twenty20. Kolkata Knight RidersQualification: Winners, IPL 5Captain: Gautam GambhirStar value: Gautam Gambhir, Jacques Kallis, Brett Lee, Sunil Narine, Brendon McCullum, Shakib Al HasanAfter winning their first IPL title this year, KKR will enter the CLT20 as one of the favourites. Their star-studded line-up speaks for itself, but key for the Gautam Gambhir-led team will be to adapt to the South African conditions. In 2009 IPL KKR had a woeful time, with then captain Brendon McCullum struggling with the bat and as leader. At home, and coming off a poor World Twenty20, key allrounder Jacques Kallis will be heavily relied upon. Highveld LionsQualification: Runners up, T20 Domestic CupCaptain: TBAStar value: Neil McKenzie, Sohail Tanvir, Dirk NannesThe Lions have been weakened by the absence of regular captain Alviro Petersen, who injured his left hand during a recent encounter with the Cape Cobra, and the decisions by Faf du Plessis, AB de Villiers and Morne Morkel to play for their IPL sides. However, with CLT20 experience and knowledge of the home conditions they are not to be underestimated. The new coach Geoffrey Toyana has backed the team to deliver with a good mix of experienced players and exciting new prospects in Chris Morris, Temba Bavuma, Quinton de Kock and Pumelela Matshikwe.Mumbai IndiansQualification: Direct entry as title holdersCaptain: Sachin TendulkarStar value: Sachin Tendulkar, Harbhajan Singh, Kieron Pollard, Lasith Malinga, Rohit Sharma, Dwayne SmithThe defending champions will be out to retain the trophy in tougher conditions than in India, and with a strong batting and bowling attack at its disposal. With Sachin Tendulkar fit the batting has been solidified and the master veteran will also resume the captaincy. Undoubtedly one of the toughest teams to beat, Mumbai Indians have the firepower to lift another CLT20.