Quick Links



    CLT20: T&T vs Chennai as it happened

    Chennai innings:

    20th over:

    In spite off two huge sixes by Albie Morkel off the last two balls of the Chennai innings, Trinidad and Tobago take the honours by clinching the low soring affair. It will be a welcome relief for T&T who had earlier suffered heartbreaking losses to the Mumbai Indians and New South Wales.

    18th over:

    Will T&T finally get home in a tense finish? Chennai still need 34 from 12 balls even though 14 runs came off the over.

    17th over:

    Just when it seemed like Chennai were getting a move on, captain cool MS Dhoni is out. Earlier, the 16th over had produced 11 runs.

    12th over:

    Chennai have lost half their side as Badrinath is run out. It's 53/5 at the end of the over.

    10th over:

    Chennai making heavy weather of the chase. W Saha goes for eight as it's 48/4 at the end of the over.

    6th over:

    Now, Ravi Rampaul gets into the act by dismissing Michael Hussey as Chennai lose their third wicket. Hussey made 13 from 12 balls.

    5th over:

    Narine strikes once again for T&T by getting the wicket of Suresh Raina. Raina departs for two as Chennai take their score to 26/2 at the end of the over.

    1st over:

    Ten runs come from the first over which includes four leg byes and a boundary to Michael Hussey.

    T&T innings:

    20th over:

    Two wickets and 13 runs come off the over as Kevon Cooper plays a blinders toward the end of the T&T innings. Cooper smashes three sixes and a boundary on his way to 28 off 10 runs.

    18th over:

    Trinidad and Tobago lose their second wicket in as many overs as Doug Bollinger gets rid of Adrian Barath for 23. Dwayne Bravo had earlier dismissed Dinesh Ramdin in the 17th over.

    15th over:

    Darren Ganga's innings comes to an end as he is caught by Suresh Raina off the bowling of R Ashwin. Ganga made 8 runs off 10 balls.

    12th over:

    Shadab Jakati takes a sharp caught and bowled chance off Darren Bravo as only one run comes off the over. T&T are three down and looking down the barrel.

    11th over:

    After losing the wicket of William Perkins in the previous over, T&T have been dealt another blow as Lendl Simmons is run out. The score at the end of the over 56/2.

    9th over:

    T&T finally break the shackles! A six by Perkins off Ashwin gives the Carribbean side 12 runs from the over.

    8th over:

    A classical Test match type start. Unfortunately it's going to do no good to Trnidad and Tobago in a T20 contest. The score at the end of the over is 34/0.

    4th over:

    A quiet start by Trinidad and Tobago. Openers, Lendl Simmons and William Perkins can't get the Chennai bowlers away. The score at the end of the over is 20/0.

    Chennai: Trinidad and Tobago captain Darren Ganga won the toss and elected to bat first in their Champions League Twenty20 match against the Chennai Super Kings on Sunday.

    Both the teams started their campaign in similar fashion, after narrowly losing their opening matches against Mumbai Indians when they seemed to be in control of the proceedings. While Chennai bounced back against the Cobras thanks to the gem of an innings by Dwayne Bravo, T&T suffered another heart break when they lost the second match against New South Wales in the Super Over.

    With a win and a loss so far, Chennai would want to ensure that there are no further hiccups and their passage to the semis is smooth by winning the remaining two league engagements. Group A has been thrown wide open after rain denied an outright win to Mumbai Indians against the Cape Cobras in Bangalore on Friday night and the teams were forced to split points.

    The Daren Ganga-led Trinidad and Tobago have found it tough to cope with the conditions and it would be quite an upset if they manage to come out trumps on Sunday. Missing key stars stars such Kieron Pollard (with Mumbai Indians) and Bravo (Chennai Super Kings), Trinidad and Tobago have so far lacked the spunk which took them to the finals in 2009.


    Chennai Super Kings:

    Michael Hussey, Murali Vijay, Suresh Raina, Subramaniam Badrinath, MS Dhoni (capt), Wriddhiman Saha, Dwayne Bravo, Albie Morkel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Shadab Jakati, Doug Bollinger

    Trinidad and Tobago:

    Lendl Simmons, William Perkins, Adrian Barath, Darren Bravo, Daren Ganga (capt), Dinesh Ramdin, Kevon Cooper, Sherwin Ganga, Ravi Rampaul, Sunil Narine, Samuel Badree