Quick Links



    CSK will look to put the right step forward

    Cape Town: A narrow 14-run defeat has not been an ideal start for the former champions Chennai Super Kings and they will look to make amends in their bowling when they take on impressive Highveld Lions, here on Tuesday.

    Save a mini mid-innings collapse, Chennai batted well in sunday's loss against Sydney Sixers but bowling was a bit of concern for them as they leaked too many runs at the death. Most of the bowlers used by skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni went for runs and he needs his frontline pacers -- Ben Hilfenhuas and Dough Bollinger -- to fire in the next game.

    Left-arm spinner Ravindra Jadeja did a decent job and Ravichandran Ashwin played his part well but the side conceded too many runs in the last six overs to make it tough for themselves. One more defeat would put their semi-final chances in jeopardy as it will have them facing a must-win situation in the last two matches.

    Dhoni may also consider replacing paceman Yo Mahesh, who bowled a very expensive over of 18 runs and was never introduced into attack again. Lions, the local outfit, are also a good batting unit. Veteran Neil McKenzie along with Quinton de Kock mowed down the Mumbai Indians attack without any fuss and hammered the defending champions by eight wickets last night.

    The other Lion bastmen are yet to be tested in this tournament but their bowlers gave a good account of themselves, especially fast bowler Dirk Nannes. The left-arm pacer bowled very tight as he gave away just 15 runs and also took a wicket. Except for Chris Morris everyone else bowled quite impressively in the game against Mumbai.

    For Chennai, Suresh Raina is in good touch and he brought his side to the brink of win against Sydney. But the side would need contributions from Indian bunch of players such as Murali Vijay, Jadeja, S Badrinatrh and the captain himself to rein the Lions.

    Probable XI:

    Chennai Super Kings: 1 MS Dhoni (c), 2 R Ashwin, 3 Michael Hussey, 4 Doug Bollinger, 5 M Vijay, 6 Faf du Plessis, 7 Ben Hilfenhaus, 8 Suresh Raina, 9 Ravindra Jadeja, 10 S Badrinath, 11 Shadab Jakati.

    Lions: 1 Temba Bavuma, 2 Alviro Peterson, 3 Zander de Bruyn, 4 Quinton de Kock, 5 Neil McKenzie, 6 Chris Morris, 7 Dirk Nannes, 8 Aaron Phangiso, 9 Sohail Tanveer, 10 Jean Symes, 11 Thami Tsolekile.