Quick Links



    Delhi top North Zone with five wins in Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy

    Chandigarh: Delhi breezed into the Super League of the Syed Mustaq Ali T20 Trophy (North Zone) beating Services by five wickets at the Sector 16 stadium on Saturday.

    The team topped the zone with five victories in as many games.

    Services, opting to bat, made 144 for six with skipper Yashpal Singh (39) being the top-scorer. Delhi got home with 10 balls to spare, courtesy contributions from Mithun Manhas (31), Milind Kumar (32), Puneet Bisht (27) and Rajat Bhatia (30 not out).

    Delhi captain and opener Gautam Gambhir opted to give others time in the middle rather than coming out to bat.

    Virender Sehwag, who was amongst runs in the tournament after a disappointing run in the longer formats, was rested for the game.

    "The boys played as a unit. A lot of credit should go to the senior players who made the job easy for us by performing so well. Viru too was in great touch throughout the competition before we rested him for today's game," Delhi coach Sanjeev Sharma told PTI.

    He said he was confident of his team maintaining the form in the Super League beginning April 8 despite the absence of stars owing to the Indian Premier League.

    Delhi were in control throughout the chase which was completed in style by all-rounder Bhatia, who used 10 balls to hammer 30 runs.

    Brief scores: Services 144 for six in 20 overs (Yashpal Singh 39, Rajat Paliwal 23, Anshul Gupta 23; Pawan Suyal 2 for 33, Varun Sood 2 for 33), Delhi 145 for five in 18.2 overs (Mithun Manhas 31, Milind Kumar 32, Rajat Bhatia 30 not out; Sumit Singh 3 for 24).

    Haryana hammer Himachal to qualify from North Zone

    In Mohali, Haryana hammered Himachal Pradesh by seven wickets and advanced to the Super League stage.

    Haryana finished second in North Zone and qualified alongside table toppers Delhi.

    Himachal all-rounder Rishi Dhawan (65 off 44 balls) played a blinder to take his team to 146 for nine from a precarious 39 for five. However, Dhawan's effort went in vain as Haryana went about their chase smoothly. Guntashveer Singh (48 off 42) and Sachin Rana (39 off 34) starred in the chase.

    Haryana raced to 41 in four overs with opener Avi Barot smashing 28 off 14 balls.

    Singh and Rana got together after Barot's dismissal and guided the innings. Rana remained unbeaten and got the job done alongside Nitin Saini (13 off 16).

    In the other match played here, Punjab beat Jammu & Kashmir via super over. J&K could only manage to level Punjab's 144 for eight after getting all out on the final ball of the match, leading to a thrilling finish.

    J&K captain Parvez Rasool's 52 with the bat and three for 17 as an off-spinner did not prove to be enough.

    Punjab finished third in North Zone and J & K were fifth.

    The Super League stage begins on April 8 in Mumbai and Rajkot. The final will be played in Mumbai on April 14.

    Brief scores: Himachal Pradesh 146 for nine in 20 overs (Rishi Dhawan 65 not out; Harshal Patel 3 for 35, Joginder Sharma 2 for 18, Kuldeep Hooda 2 for 8), Haryana 148 for three in 19.2 overs (Guntashveer Singh 48, Sachin Rana 39 not out; Akshay Chauhan 2 for 32). Punjab 144 for eight in 20 overs (Gitansh Khera 37 not out, Mayank Sidhana 24; Parvez Rasool 3 for 17), J&K 144 all out in 20 overs (Rasool 52; Sandeep Sharma 2 for 18).