Quick Links



    Dhaka Gladiators beat Chittagong Kings by 29 runs

    Mirpur: Dhaka Gladiators continued their dominance in the Bangladesh Premier League 2013 as they beat Chittagong Kings by 29 runs on Thursday to notch up their ninth victory of the tournament. Enamul Haque won the toss and put Dhaka Gladiators to bat. Though Joshua Cobb departed early, Tillakratne Dilshan and Anamul haque added 63 runs for the second wicket before both of them fell in quick succession.

    Shakib Al Hasan blitzed an unbeaten 59 off 29 balls, a knock which included nine boundaries, fired Dhaka Gladiators to 168 for 6 in 20 overs. Shakib shone with the ball as well and chalked up a couple of crucial wickets to foil Chittagong Kings. Mosharraf Hossain gave him fine support and conceded just 19 runs in his quota of four overs and also picked up two wickets to restrict the opposition to 139 for 9 in 20 overs.

    In an another match, Barisal Burners emerged victorious over Rangpur Riders by 26 runs. Brad Hodge, the captain of Barisal Burners, won the toss and opted to bat. Their top order crumbled and they were reduced to 55 for 4 at one stage. Farveez Maharoof (34*) and Elias Sunny (30) chipped in with vital contributions to take their team to a respectable total of 139 for 7 in 2o overs. Sunny was particularly impressive as he took just 20 balls and smashed five boundaries.

    Chasing a below-par total, Rangpur Riders got off to a disastrous start as Hamid Hassan wrecked their top order and left them reeling at 17 for 4. Cameron Borgas and Danza Hyatt added 47 runs for the fifth wicket but the run-rate was too slow. Kevin O'Brien whakced 29 off 16 balls in the end but that was not sufficient to guide his team to the victory. Hassan, who snaffled three wickets, was adjudged Man of the Match.