Quick Links



    Naveen sacks 33 ministers in 12 years as Odisha Chief Minister

    Odisha Chief Minister NaveenPatnaik has sacked 33 ministers during the last 12 years inoffice while only two resigned.Only four of the 35 ministers sacked were able to make acome back. They were Debi Prasad Mishra (now Agricultureminister), Damodar Rout (sacked twice and now Health miister),Bijayshree Routray (now Forest and Environment minister) andRabinarayan Nanda (now School and Mass Education minister).The latest ouster took place on August 2 when Patnaiksacked five ministers, including Finance Minister PrafullaGhadai and Energy Minister Atanu S Nayak. Patnaik dropped fiveministers ahead of the ministry expansion.The other ministers who were dropped before the ministryexpansion were Prafulla Samal, Pratap Jena and PushpendraSinghdeo.Patnaik sacked six ministers during his first stint aschief minister from 2000 to 2004 and the then AgricultureMinister Ramakrushna Patnaik had resigned after he was shiftedfrom the Finance department.A total of seven ministers quit the ministry during Patnaik's first innings.The six others who were dropped from the ministery wereKamala Das, Prashant Nanda (BJP), Nalinikanta Mohanty, AmarSatpathy, Debi Prasad Mishra and A P Singh.Similarly, during his second tenure as chief ministerfrom 2004-2009, Patnaik sacked 14 ministers on differentgrounds.Patnaik had in his third stint since 2009 sacked 14ministers.They were Pramila Mallick, Pravin Bhanja Deo, BijayRanjan Singh Bariha, Damodar Rout, Pradeep Maharathy, AnjaliBehera, Sanjib Sahu, Sarada Prasad Nayak, Prafulla Ghadai,Prafulla Samal, Atanu S Nayak and Pushpendra Singhdeo.Former Excise Minister A U Singhdeo had resigned in Aprilthis year following a hooch tragedy in Khurda and Cuttackdistrict.