Quick Links



    Dilshan quits, Mahela to lead Sri Lanka

    Johannesburg: Mahela Jayawardene has been named as the captain of the Sri Lanka team for the upcoming tri-series in Australia after Tillakratne Dilshan relieved himself of captaincy duties.Earlier, Dilshan stepped down as Sri Lanka skipper with immediate effect. He had been handed the leadership role following Kumar Sangakkara’s retirement from the post after the 2011 World Cup and led Sri Lanka to Test and ODI series defeats in England, the UAE and South Africa.Dilshan’s batting was inconsistent when he captained. In 11 Tests as captain, he averaged 33.60 with one century and four fifties. In 16 ODIs, he crossed 50 just twice while averaging a lowly 17.43.The highlight of Dilshan’s captaincy was Sri Lanka’s series-levelling Test win over South Africa in Durban, but one success in 11 attempts was a poor record for him.It has been reported that the captaincy has been offered to former captain Mahela Jayawardene, who has yet to comment.The 35-year-old Dilshan has sent in his resignation from South Africa, where Sri Lanka concluded their disastrous tour on Sunday. Sri Lanka lost the three-match Test series 1-2 and five-match ODI series 2-3."Dilshan has resigned as captain in all three formats of the game," Sri Lanka Cricket said in a statement."Members of the executive committee take this opportunity to thank Dilshan for his commitment and dedication during his tenure as the national captain,""We also wish him well as he continues to represent Sri Lanka as a national player,'' the Board said.Squad for Australia tri-series:Mahela Jayawardene (capt), Angelo Mathews (vice-capt), Upul Tharanga, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Kumar Sangakkara, Dinesh Chandimal, Lahiru Thirimanne, Thisira Perera, Farveez Maharoof, Rangana Herath, Sachithra Senanayake, Lasith Malinga, Nuwan Kulasekera, Chamara Welegedara, Dhammika Prasad (With Agency inputs)