Quick Links



    Gambhir ton fires India A to 338-4 on Day 1

    Live updates from day one of the tour match between India A and Australians at Chennai.

    End of Over No. 90: India A 338 for 4. Manoj Tiwary is batting on 77. He is smashing the ball to all corner of the field as he already hit 12 boundaries and looking good for his century. M. Gautam is playing the second fiddle. India A in a strong position.

    End of Over No. 85: India A 313 for 4. India A are going well as Tiwary and Gautam are playing cautiously. Tiwary still on 58 and Gautam is batting on 29.

    End of Over No. 80: India A 301 for 4. India A reach 300 runs as Tiwary reaches yet another domestic half century. Gautam is batting on 18 at the other end. Tiwary hit 8 boundaries and a six in his innings. This is a good opportunity for him to get back under the selectors' radar.

    End of Over No. 75: India A 272 for 4. Another one falls. Doherty gets his third, snaring Abhishek Nayar caught bat pad by Ed Cowan. Australians are right back in the match. Another wicket before stumps can really do wonder for their confidence.

    End of Over No. 73: India A 267 for 3. Abhishek Nayar comes to the crease and joins Manoj Tiwary who is closing in on yet another domestic fifty. He is on 45, hitting six boundaries and a six.

    End of Over No. 71: India A 265 for 3. Wicket! Doherty strikes as Rohit Sharma is caught behind after a solid knock. Australians have picked up wicket at the right time. This is Doherty's second wicket. Rohit made 77.

    End of Over No. 68: India A 247 for 2. Rohit Sharma and Manoj Tiwary brought up fifty runs partnership between them as India A continued to dominate the Australians.

    End of Over No. 65: India A 236 for 2. Spinners from both the ends for the Australians. Rohit and Manoj are batting intelligently at the moment and it's hard work for bowlers here. Rohit is on 68 while Manoj is on 28.

    End of Over No. 59: India A 220 for 2. Rohit has moved into 60s and is playing more maturely than he used to. On the other end Tiwary is scoring at run a ball and is on 16 with three boundaries to his name. And players going in for tea now.

    End of Over No. 56: India A 203 for 2. Henriques strikes getting the key wicket of Gambhir with Watson taking a ripper at the first slip. Brilliant innings comes to an end. He is out on 112. Meanwhile, Manoj Tiwary hits two boundaries to start his innings in fine fashion.

    End of Over No. 51: India A 188 for 1. Fifty! Rohit Sharma brings up his fifty from just 85 balls. He has really looked in fine touch since he came to the middle. Surely this innings will give selectors more headache.

    End of Over No. 49: India A 182 for 1. Back-to-back maiden over for Australians. India A will be hoping not to lose any wicket before tea.

    End of Over No. 47: India A 182 for 1. Century! Brilliant innings by Gautam Gambhir against the Australians and he has surely proved the selectors wrong for not selecting him in the Test series against Australia. He is all pumped up with that ton. Rohit on the other end is on 48.

    End of Over No. 43: India A 165 for 1. Gambhir with another boundary to his name. He is now just 12 short of a century. Rohit still on 45.

    End of Over No. 43: India A 159 for 1. Gautam Gambhir and Rohit Sharma are toying with the Australian bowlers. Rohit is dealing in boundaries and sixes at the moment. He is on 45 thanks to five boundaries and three sixes. While Gambhir has surely send his message loud to the selectors. He is on 83.

    End of Over No. 36: India A 120 for 1. Gautam and Rohit are looking solid in the middle. The duo are rotating the strike well and also picking up boundaries and sixes in between. In no time they have brought up fifty run stand between them. Gambhir is on 61 while Rohit has moved to 29.

    End of Over No. 32: India A 104 for 1. Fifty! Gautam Gambhir brings up his fifty with a six. He hits two in two in the same over. On the other hand Rohit also helps him to his third boundary of his innings and first of this session. Good start by India after lunch.

    End of Over No. 30: India A 88 for 1. Lunch at Guru Nanak Ground and the hosts are 83 for 1. Gautam Gambhir is not out on 42. He is supported by Rohit Sharma, who is on 16. India A will be pretty happy with this session.

    End of Over No. 24: India A 67 for 1. Wicket! Australians pick up the first wicket of the day. Jiwanjot Singh the man to take the long walk back to the pavilion. Doherty picks up his first scalp as he forced edge of Singh's bat who gives a straight forward catch to second slip. He scored 24.

    End of Over No. 19: India A 57 for 0. India is getting a move on here. Good few overs for India as Gambhir is looking in fine touch today. Gambhir has welcomed Xavier Doherty with open arms. A six and a four! Jiwanjot Singh on the other has also got his eye in and have scored couple of boundaries.

    End of Over No. 15: India A 30 for 0. Gambhir is looking solid in the middle as he moves into 20s with another boundary. Surely he wants his place back in the Indian team and a fifty or a century here will surely won't do any harm.

    End of Over No. 12: India A 21 for 0. Gambhir has moved into double figures thanks to two classy boundaries. On the other hand Jiwanjyot is finding it difficult in the middle. He is on 3 off 37 balls. Moises Henriques and Nathan Lyon are in the attack for the Australians.

    End of Over No. 10: India A 12 for 0. It has been a quite start by India A openers. Siddle and Starc have been right on the money from the word go. Gambhir and Jiwanjyot are finding it difficult to score runs against the duo. Only one boundary has been scored so far thanks to Gambhir.

    End of Over No. 4: India A 4 for 0. Gambhir is finally off the mark with a single while Jiwanjyot is still on 0 and has faced 11 deliveries. Remaining three runs have been extras.

    End of Over No. 2: India A 2 for 0. Gautam Gambhir and Jiwanjyot Singh have opened India A innings with Siddle and Starc sharing the new ball for the Australians.

    Toss: India A skipper Gautam Gambhir won the toss and elected to bat first against the Australians in the second tour game for the visitors.


    India A: Gauram Gambhir, Jiwanjyot Singh, Rohit Sharma, Manoj Tiwary, C.Gautam, R.Dhruv, J.Saxena, Manpreet Gony, Vinay Kumar, Dhawal Kulkarni, Abhishek Nayar

    Australians: Shane Watson, Ed Cowan, Philip Hughes, Usman Khawaja, Matthew Wade, Henriques, Mitchell Starc, Peter Siddle, Nathan Lyon, Xavi Doherty, Agar