Quick Links



    Ganguly to lead Bengal in Mushtaq Ali Trophy

    Kolkata: Sourav Ganguly will lead Bengal in its title defence of the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy to be held in Mumbai from March 23-27.

    Earlier this month, the former India captain guided Bengal to its maiden Vijay Hazare title and came as an "obvious choice" for the job.

    "Ganguly's selection is obvious. He led us to the national one-dayers title in the Vijay Hazare Trophy. He said he was okay with it," CAB general secretary Biswarup Dey said on Tuesday.

    Bengal will also receive a big boost with the return of Manoj Tiwary and Ashok Dinda, who are currently in Bangladesh for the four-nation Asia Cup.

    The selectors retained the majority of the Vijay Hazare squad, with the addition of two new faces in allrounder Alok Sharma and Aritra Chatterjee.

    Having topped the East Zone leg, Bengal will directly play the quarter-finals on March 25, taking on the winners of the Baroda-Karnataka fixture.

    Meanwhile, Ajit Agarkar has been retained as Mumbai's captain for the Twenty20 tournament. Seeded to the quarter-finals, Mumbai take on Tamil Nadu on March 24.

    Schedule: Mar 23: Baroda vs Karnataka; Assam vs Punjab (pre quarter-finals) Mar 24: Railways vs Delhi; Tamil Nadu vs Mumbai (Quarter-finals 1 and 2), Mar 25: (Quarter-finals 3 and 4) Mar 26: Semi-finals, Mar 27: Final.

    Apart from the above teams, Madhya Pradesh (Central Zone) seeded into the quarters, have qualified for the inter-zonal knock-out rounds.


    Bengal: Sourav Ganguly (c), Manoj Tiwary, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Anustup Majumdar, Laxmi Ratan Shukla, Arnab Nandi, Sanjib Sanyal, Aritra Chatterjee, Iresh Saxena, Mohammad Shami Ahmed, Ashoke Dinda, Subhamoy Das, Debabrata Das, Shreevats Goswami, Alok Sharma.

    Mumbai: Ajit Agarkar (Capt), Ajinkya Rahane (V-Capt), Wasim Jaffer, Rohit Sharma, Suryakumar Yadav, Dhawal Kulkarni, Abhishek Nayar, Aditya Tare, Iqbal Abdullah, Shoaib Shaikh, Ankit Chavan, Kshemal Waingankar, Anup Revandkar, Siddharth Chitnis, Javed Khan.