Quick Links



    Group C: Himachal register eight-wicket win; Rasool shines for J and K

    Agartala: Left-arm spinner Bipul Sharma and Rishi Dhawan shone with the ball before Prashant Chopra struck a classy unbeaten fifty to guide Himachal Pradesh to an easy eight-wicket win over Tripura on the third and penultimate day of a Group C Ranji Trophy match.

    Bipul returned with impressive figures of four for 30, while Dhawan picked up three wickets for 38 runs to bowl Tripura out for 188 in their second essay after the hosts resumed the day at 93 for one. Barring opener KB Pawan (86), who added 30 runs to his overnight score, no other Tripura batsmen made significant contributions as the hosts were bundled out in 77.2 overs.

    Chasing a modest 144 runs for an outright win, Chopra made a fluent 84 off 104 balls and together with Sangram Singh (32) shared 89 runs for the opening wicket to lay the foundation for the chase which was completed in 35.2 overs.

    Brief Scores:

    Tripura: 141 & 188 all out in 77.2 overs (K B Pawan 86, Bipul Sharma 4/30, Rishi Dhawan 3/48).

    Himachal Pradesh: 186 & 144 for two in 35.2 overs (Prashant Chopra 84 not out; Manisankar Murasingh 1/21).

    In another match at Srinagar, Promising all-rounder Parvez Rasool shone with a four-wicket haul as the Ranji Trophy Group C match between Jammu and Kashmir and Goa was evenly poised on the third and penultimate day at Sher-i-Kashmir stadium.

    Goa were 245 for nine in their second innings at stumps with an overall lead of 260 runs. Amit Yadav was unbeaten on 40 off 67 balls while Gauresh Gawas was yet to open his account. Keenan Vaz and skipper Ravikant Shukla were the notable contributors for the visitors as Rasool spun a web around Goa batsmen to give his team a chance of an outright victory.

    While Vaz struck a patient 100-ball 59 studded with six fours, Shukla's attacking 56-ball 46 was laced with nine fours. Both the batsmen were snapped up by Rasool. Local boy Rasool emerged as star of the day by taking four for 65 in 21 overs. The 24-year-old off-spinner always seemed to be on the lookout for wickets.

    Apart from Rasool, Manik Gupta also chipped in with two wickets while Samiullah Beigh and Mohammad Mudhasir accounted for a wicket each. Earlier, J&K, resuming at their overnight score of 282 for eight, could add only 20 runs to their first innings score before being bowled out for 302.

    The hosts will now aim for an outright win or else they will have to be satisfied with a solitary point, having conceded the first innings lead.

    Brief Scores:

    Goa 1st innings: 317 all out in 97.1 overs.

    Jammu and Kashmir 1st innings: 302 all out in 94 overs)

    Goa 2nd innings: 245 for 9 in 73 overs (Keenan Vaz 59, Ravikant Shukla 46; Parveez Rasool 4/65).

    In another Group C match at Kannur, Andhra batsmen fired in unison to guide their team to 288 for three in reply to Kerala's first innings total of 486 at stumps on the penultimate day of the match.

    Opener Srikar Bharat (62), Murumulla Sriram (82 batting) and Bodapati Sumanth (90) struck fine half-centuries against a listless Kerala bowling attack at the Conor Vayal Stadium, Tellicherry. Sriram and Amol Muzumdar were at the crease with Andhra still needing 198 runs on the final day tomorrow to surpass Kerala's first innings total.

    Starting the day at 42 for no loss, opener Prasanth Kumar could add only 12 runs to his overnight score before being run-out by Sandeep Warrier for 22. Bharat too departed after completing his half-century, caught by Sanju Samson off Prasanth Parameswaran. Bharat's attacking 101-ball knock was laced with six fours and three sixes.

    Brief scores:

    Kerala 1st innings: 486 all out in 163 overs.

    Andhra 1st innings: 288 for 3 in 105 overs (Bodapati Sumanth 90, Murumulla Sriram 82 batting; Prasanth Parameswaran 1/42).

    In Guwahati, Opener Tirumalasetti Suman smashed a fine century to guide Hyderabad to 218 for four in reply to Assam's mammoth first innings total of 501 for nine declared at stumps on the third day

    Suman made 126 off 170 balls with the help of nine fours and as many sixes. Apart from Suman, both captain Akshath Reddy (39) and Hanuma Vihari (34) got starts before getting out. At the close of play, Bavanaka Sandeep (8) and Amol Shinde were at the crease with Hyderabad still needing 283 more runs on the final day of the game to surpass Assam's first innings total.

    Pallav Kumar Das (1/6), Tarjinder Singh (1/12), skipper Abu Nechim Ahmed (1/35) and Arlen Konwar (1/62) shared the four wickets for Assam. Earlier, resuming at the overnight score of 422 for six, Assam batsmen added 79 more runs before calling off their innings.

    Overnight centurion, Gokul Sharma added 35 more runs to remain unbeaten on 161.

    Brief Scores:

    Assam 1st innings: 501 for nine dec in 197 overs (Gokul Sharma 161 not out, Sibsankar Roy 134, Jamaluddin Syed Mohammed 59; Amol Shinde 3/143).

    Hyderabad 1st innings: 218 for four in 71 overs (Tirumalasetti Suman 126; Pallav Kumar Das 1/6).