Quick Links



    Gujarat beat Baroda by 73 runs in Vijay Hazare trophy

    Rajkot: Gujarat beat Baroda by 73 runs in the West Zone Vijay Hazare trophy tie at the Madhavrao Scindia cricket ground here, on the back of a spectacular half century by Rohit Bhatt and all-round performance by Jesal Karia.

    Gujarat made 239 for 8 after they won the toss and opted to bat first.In response, Baroda could pull off merely 166 runs in 38.2 overs. This was the third consecutive win by Gujarat team.

    Gujarat had a shaky start and lost openers Parthiv Patel (0) and Dhruve Raval (0) in a quick succession. However, Rohit Bhatt came to rescue of his side and smashed 86 runs facing 108 balls with six boundaries. He was supported by Akshar Patel (37) and Jesal Karia (53) as Gujarat managed to post 239 runs.

    For Baroda, Munaf Patel and Murtuza Vahora took two wickets each conceding 57 runs and 34 runs, respectively. Gujarat bowlers responded well and bundled out Baroda for 166. Only four Baroda batsmen, namely Irfan Pathan (79), Vikram Solanki (30), J Caya (15) and Yusuf Pathan (10) could cross the double digit mark.

    Brief score: Gujarat 239 for 8 (Rohit Bhatt 86, Jesal Karia 53, Murtuza Vahora 2-34, Munaf Patel 2-57). Baroda 166 all out off 38.2 overs (Irfan Pathan 79, Vikram Solanki 30, Jasprit Bumrah 3-37, Jesal karia 2-12).

    In another match, Mumbai defeated Saurashtra by five wickets in the West Zone Vijay Hazare trophy, on the back of Sushanth Marathe's 88 coupled with his 114-run partnership for second wicket with Iqbal Abdullah (55). Mumbai restricted Saurashtra on 244 and chased the target successfully at the expense of five wickets off 48.3 overs in a day-night encounter played at Saurashtra Cricket Association (SCA) stadium, Khandheri.

    After being invited to bat first, Saurashtra made 244 runs for the loss of seven wickets as left-handed Arpit Vasavada, who missed century by a whisker, was the top scorer for Saurashtra making 99. He added 68 runs for the third wicket with Sheldon Jackson (46) after Saurashtra lost two wickets in quick succession in the form of Sagar Jogiyani (8) and Jaydev Shah (1).

    For Mumbai, Dhaval Kulkarni was the pick of the bowler who took three wickets for 49. Mumbai cruised through the victory with Marathe's 88 runs in 114 balls that came with nine boundaries while Abdullah faced 67 balls for 55. Captain Surya Kumar Yadav remained unbeaten at 29.

    Brief Score: Saurashtra 244 or 8 (Arpit Vasavada 99, Sheldon Jackson 46, Dhaval Kulkarni 3-3-49) Mumbai: 248 for 5 off 48.3 overs (Sushant Marathe 88, Iqbal Abdullah 55, Dharmendra Jadeja 1-23).