Gujarat beat Punjab to lift Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 Trophy

Updated: March 31, 2013, 5:41 PM IST
Gujarat beat Punjab to lift Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 Trophy

Indore: Gujarat on Sunday clinched the Syed Mushtaq Ali Twenty20 Championship title after registering a thumping six-wicket victory over Punjab in the summit clash here. Electing to bat, Punjab suffered a top-order collapse to be reduced to 20 for four in the sixth over before they recovered a bit to score 122 for eight in their allotted 20 overs at the Holkar Stadium.

Gujarat chased down the target with 13 balls to spare. Pacer Jasprit Bumrah was the pick of the Gujarat bowlers as he returned with three wickets for just 14 runs from his four overs. Mehul Patel chipped in with two wickets, while Rohit Dahiya and Rakesh Dhurv took wicket apiece.

Amitoze Singh top-scored for Punjab with a 42-ball 49, while wicketkeeper-batsman Chandan Madan contributed with 25 runs. Chasing a modest target of 123, Gujarat started badly as they lost their wicketkeeper captain Parthiv Patel (1) with the score on two.

Opener Asad Pathan (32) and one-down batsman Niraj Patel (14) put up a 50-run partnership, before they were both dismissed in the eighth over with the team score of 52.

Manprit Juneja (31), who hit a breathtaking unbeaten 108 in their final Super League match against Kerala on Saturday, and Abdulahad Malik (31 not out) put up a further 64 runs together, as Gujarat kept abreast with the required run-rate. Akshar Patel (12 not out) sealed the victory in style with a six as Gujarat reached 128 for four in 17.5 overs.

For Punjab, left-arm spinner Rajwinder Singh grabbed two wickets for 40, while Siddarth Kaul bagged a wicket.

Brief scores: Punjab 122 for 8 in 20 overs (Amitoze Singh 49; Jasprit Bumrah 3 for 14). Gujarat: 128 for 4 in 17.5 overs (Asad Pathan 32; Rajwinder Singh 2 for 40).

First Published: March 31, 2013, 5:41 PM IST

Team Rankings

1 India 3925 123
2 South Africa 3050 117
3 Australia 3087 100
4 England 3362 99
5 New Zealand 3114 97
FULL Ranking