Quick Links



    Haddin, Doherty included in Australia squad for India tour

    Sydney: The Cricket Australia National Selection Panel (NSP) on Thursday announced a 14-man squad for the Australia's ODI tour of India. Matthew Wade has been omitted due to lack of form and has been replaced by Brad Haddin, who captured an Ashes series record of dismissals in July and August. Xavier Doherty has also been included in the squad, in place of Fawad Ahmed.

    National Selector John Inverarity said, "Australia's ODI team can take a great deal of encouragement and confidence from its recent performances in Scotland and England. The India Tour Squad looks to take this momentum into the forthcoming series and they know they will face stiff opposition from a very talented group of Indian players."

    Cricket Australia has also confirmed that Steve Rixon will be the head coach for the Indian tour. Cricket Australia executive general manager team performance, Pat Howard said, "As with the successful tour of the UAE last year we will have Steve Rixon acting as Head Coach in India. Darren has been on the road and away from home for a considerable amount of time. This is a great opportunity for Darren to refresh, work with the States and provide others with opportunities."

    Australia will play one T20 match prior to the seven ODIs and the NSP reserves the right to select from Australian players already in India for the Champions League Twenty20 to play in the T20 match.


    Michael Clarke, George Bailey, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Xavier Doherty, James Faulkner, Aaron Finch, Brad Haddin, Moises Henriques, Phil Hughes, Mitchell Johnson, Glenn Maxwell, Clint McKay, Adam Voges, Shane Watson