Quick Links



    Hafeez named Pakistan skipper for T20s

    Lahore: Pakistan selected allrounder Mohammad Hafeez as its new Twenty20 captain on Thursday for next month's series against Sri Lanka, leaving Misbah-ul-Haq in charge of the Test and one-day teams. Pakistan's selectors also picked three different wicketkeepers for the three formats and dropped Misbah from the Twenty20 team.

    Pakistan will play two Twenty20s, five ODIs and three Tests against Sri Lanka, starting with a Twenty20 in the southern port city of Hambantota on June 1. The selectors also recalled fast bowler Mohammad Sami to all three squads and middle-order batsman Faisal Iqbal was brought back into the test team.

    Rookie wicketkeeper Shakeel Ansar impressed selectors in the recent domestic Twenty20 event, while Sarfraz Ahmed and Adnan Akmal will keep in the ODIs and Test matches respectively. Misbah didn't announce he was quitting Twenty20 cricket, and the chairman of the Pakistan Cricket Board said Hafeez's elevation is only for the tour of Sri Lanka.

    Pakistan will play three Twenty20 games against Australia before competing in the World Twenty20 in Sri Lanka in September.

    "The whole world is experimenting with different teams for different formats of the game, and that's what we are doing now," Ashraf said. "You need players of different temperaments for all the three formats." Hafeez said he learnt a lot while playing under different captains, like Rashid Latif, Inzamam-ul-Haq and Shoaib Malik.

    "I will try to give 110 per cent and implement what I've learnt under previous captains," Hafeez said. Chief selector Iqbal Qasim defended the recalls of Sami, allrounder Yasir Arafat and Iqbal.

    "Whosoever is playing in domestic cricket is eligible for selection if he performs," Qasim said. "We have tried not to disturb the nucleus of the team and try to groom youngsters around them."

    Middle-order batsman Umar Akmal was picked for Twenty20 and ODI but was dropped from the test squad. Uncapped players Afaq Rahim and Mohammad Ayub Dogar were picked in the test squad.


    Twenty20: Mohammad Hafeez (captain), Khalid Latif, Ahmed Shehzad, Shoaib Malik, Umar Akmal, Shakeel Ansar, Shahid Afridi, Yasir Arafat, Umar Gul, Sohail Tanvir, Saeed Ajmal, Raza Hasan, Haris Sohail, Mohammad Sami, Hammad Azam, Nasir Jamshed.

    ODI: Misbah-ul-Haq (captain), Mohammad Hafeez, Nasir Jamshed, Younis Khan, Umar Akmal, Sarfraz Ahmed, Shahid Afridi, Umar Gul, Rahat Ali, Saeed Ajmal, Abdul Rehman, Mohammad Sami, Asad Shafiq, Aizaz Cheema, Azhar Ali, Imran Farhat.

    Test: Misbah-ul-Haq (captain), Mohammad Hafeez, Taufeeq Umar, Azhar Ali, Younis Khan, Asad Shafiq, Adnan Akmal, Umar Gul, Saeed Ajmal, Abdul Rehman, Mohammad Sami, Faisal Iqbal, Junaid Khan, Afaq Rahim, Mohammad Ayub Dogar, Aizaz Cheema.