Quick Links



    Harbhajan, Yuvraj in India's provisional squad for World Twenty20

    The Indian selection panel announced the 30-man probables list for the ICC World Twenty20, which is set to take place in Bangladesh from March 16.

    Indian veterans Yuvraj Singh and Harbhajan Singh have made the cut, while their was no room for discarded openers Gautam Gambhir and Virender Sehwag, while Yusuf Pathan and Zaheer Khan's names were also missing.

    Harbhajan has been rewarded for his IPL performance last season where he was among the top wicket-takers with 24 scalps at an impressive economy rate of 6.15. His batting form has also been good of late as he hit a match-winning 92 for Punjab in the Ranji Trophy quarter-final last week.

    Gambhir last played for India in January 2013. Since being dropped, Gambhir has been part of the India A squad is the series against West Indies A and have played in Ranji Trophy matches regularly. Dhoni even said before India left for South Africa that Gambhir continues to be the third-best Test opener in India. However, he has been still overlooked this time.

    Rookies Sanju Samson, Unmukt Chand and Mandeep Singh are also part of the squad. Samson was recently retained by the Rajasthan Royals for the next edition of the Indian Premier League, after a sparkling show in the Under-19 Asia Cup final.

    Unheralded Railways leg-spinner Karn Sharma, who made an impression in the IPL and Champions League for Sunrisers Hyderabad, has also been named in the list announced.

    Bengal's Ashoke Dinda (37 wickets) and Laxmi Ratan Shukla (584 runs and 9 wickets) however failed to make it to the 30-member squad.

    India probables for World T20: Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Ajinkya Rahane, Ambati Rayudu, Dinesh Karthik, Ravinda Jadeja, R Ashwin, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma, Vinay Kumar, Stuart Binny, Mohit Sharma, Kedhar Jadhav, Yuvraj Singh, Amit Mishra, Rajat Bhatia, Sanju Samson, Ishwar Pandey, Umesh Yadav, Unmukt Chand, Mandeep Singh, Harbhajan Singh, Varun Aaron, Shahbaz Nadeem, Parthiv Patel, Karn Sharma.