Quick Links



    History is made: India claim first 4-0 Test series victory

    New Delhi: India's six-wicket win over Australia on Sunday at the Feroz Shah Kotla was a landmark victory, because it marked the first time they had ever won a four-Test series 4-0. Never in the history of Indian cricket - 472 prior Test matches, to be precise - had the team won by such a margin.

    It marked a new low for Australia, whose previous 4-0 defeat came in South Africa in 1969-70, as well as a fitting reply from India who were hammered 4-0 in Australia in 2011-12.

    India had previously won series of four Test matches only four times. Their prior series victories in four-Test contests read: 1-0 v New Zealand in 1964-65; 3-1 v New Zealand in 1967-68; 1-0 v West Indies in 2005-06; and 2-0 v Australia in 2008.

    Having claimed the series in Mohali to record their first hat-trick of wins over Australia, India came to the Feroz Shah Kotla, a venue where spin has dominated numerous times in the past, as firm favorites to make it four in a row. They duly achieved that historic win inside three days, with R Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja claiming seven wickets each. India wrapped up the win during the final session on day three, thanks to Cheteshwar Pujara's unbeaten 82 off 92 balls.

    There is another Test worth keeping an eye on, for Indian fans. If New Zealand beat England in Auckland - they currently lead by 274 runs with seven wickets in hand going into the fourth day - India will move to No. 2 in the ICC Test rankings.