Quick Links



    Ind vs SL, tri-series: as it happened

    India innings

    47th over India win by four wickets with 20 balls to go! Ravichandran Aswhin bagged the Man-of-the-Match award. Ashwin (30) added an unbeaten 53 with Ravindra Jadeja (24) for the seventh wicket to fashion the Indian win. Earlier, while bowling, he was India's best bowler with figures of 3/32. Well, that does not belittle Virat Kohli's 77 in any way. It was the Delhi batsman who set up the visitors' chase. Their first win in the triangular series!

    44th over: India 217 for 6. Need another 17 runs to win.

    41st over India 204 for six.

    39th over Will Ravindra Jadeja and Ravichandran Ashwin be able to take India over the line? We'll know about that in a while. India 192 for 6, need another 42 runs to win.

    36th over: Disaster for India. Virat Kohli runs himself out. Pushes the ball towards mid-on, runs for a quick single but he is way off the crease as Malinga hits the stumps at the non-striker's end. India 181 for six.

    Kohli run out 77 (94)

    34th over: Dhoni departs! India 168 for five. Dhoni undone by a short ball. Malinga takes the catch running backwards at wide mid-on.

    Dhoni c Malinga b Prasad 4 (5)

    33nd over: Raina out. Raina pull a short ball from Angelo Mathews straight to Senanayake at deep mid-wicket.

    Raina c sub (SMSM Senanayake) b Mathews 24 (27)

    29th over: India 143/3 , need another 91 runs to win. Suresh Raina joins Kohli at the crease.

    26th over Rohit Sharma out. Hits Thisara Perera really hard but finds Tillakaratne Dilshan at point. Good catch!

    Rohit Sharma c Dilshan b Perera 10 (17)

    Earlier in the over Virat Kohli reached 50. His 19th ODI fifty.

    24rd over: India 108 for two. Virat Kohli looks in fine control.

    20th over: India 92 for 2. Rohit Sharma joins Virat Kohli after Sachin's departure.

    19th over Tendulkar out! Plays on! Angelo Mathews strikes for the Lankans. India 89 for two.

    Tendulkar b Mathews 48 (63)

    16th over Tendulkar takes a four off Perera, directs it towards third man as the ball bumps over the ropes. India 81 for one.

    15th over: Dilshan comes on. Concedes five runs. India 73 for one.

    14th over Kohli fetches a boundary, courtesy a leg glance and it was Thisara Perera's first ball. Fifty-run partnership for this pair, 54 runs now. India 68 for one.

    12th over The runs have not come freely in the last few overs. India 60 for 1.

    11th over: India 53 for 1.

    10th over: India 47 for one.

    9th over: India 43 for one. Virat Kohli pushes Kulasekara through point for a four.

    8th over: Dhammika Prasad keeps both batsmen in check. Concedes just one run in the over. India 36 for 1.

    7th over: Tendulkar looks good. Gets a boundary off Kulasekara past point. India 35 for 1.

    5th over: India 28 for 1. Tendulkar takes two fours off Malinga. The first through a straight drive past mid-on. The second through the covers. Beautiful sight!

    3rd over Sehwag out! Sehwag plays the upper cut off Malinga and finds Kulasekara, who takes a good catch running towards his right at third man. India 18/1.

    Sehwag c Kulasekara b Malinga 10 (8)

    1st over: Malinga starts the proceedings for the Sri Lankans. India get three runs off the over.

    Indian openers, Virender Sehwag and Sachin Tendulkar walk out to the middle to start their team's run chase.

    Sri Lanka innings:

    50th over: Nuwan Kulasekara out! Typical last over shot. Kulasekara going for the big shot off Vinay Kumar, but gets a top edge to Rohit Sharma standing at silly point.

    Nuwan Kulasekara c Sharma b Vinay Kumar 7 (9)

    Zaheer Khan making a comeback after the Test series takes two wickets, while Ashwin gets some purchase from the WACA wicket to claim three wickets. Sri Lanka set India 234 target for win.

    46th over: Lahiru Thirimanne out! Against their sub-continental neighbours, India's fielding has gone one notch above. Thirimanne wanted to steal a quick single by playing to backward point, but was left stranded halfway.

    Lahiru Thirimanne run out 7 (11)

    45th over: Sri Lanka get past the score of 200 and with five overs remaining would aim anything beyond 250.

    43rd over: Dinesh Chandimal departs! Again brilliant work by Dhoni behind the stumps. Chandimal steps out, but Ashwin gives the ball flight to deceive the batsman.

    Dinesh Chandimal st Dhoni b Ashwin 64 (81b)

    39th over: Thisara Perera out! It's all happening out there. Thisara Perera steps out to heave one off Ashwin but misses and Dhoni behind the stumps does the rest.

    Thisara Perera st Dhoni b Ashwin 7 (12)

    Just before Perera's dismissal, Chandimal scores a gritty half century.

    35th over: Mahela Jayawardene falls! Jayawardene goes across the off-stump and pulls Ashwin, but plays straight into the hands of Rohit Sharma at deep square-leg.

    Mahela Jayawardene c Sharma b Ashwin 23 (34)

    31st over: With the spinners in operation, Jayawardene and Chandimal find it difficult to score freely. Sri Lanka are 131 for the loss of three wickets.

    27th over: Dilshan's departure brings the classy Mahela Jayawardene to the crease burdened as captain. Sri Lanka 111 for the loss of three wickets.

    24th over: Dilshan out! While going for a slash shot off Ravindra Jadeja, Dilshan plays straight into the hands of Kohli at point, who takes a brilliant low catch.

    Tillakaratne Dilshan c Kohli b Jadeja 48 (79)

    23rd over: India are in total control so far by choking the Lankan batsmen for runs. Sri Lanka are 94 for the loss of two wickets.

    16th over: Sangakkara out! Zaheer pitches it up and the ball holds to its line and Sangakkara pokes it to Dhoni behind the stumps.

    Kumar Sangakkara c Dhoni b Zaheer Khan 26 (34)

    12th over: Both the batsmen have shifted gears, especially Dilshan playing in his usual fashion. Sri Lanka are 57 for the loss of one wicket.

    9th over: Sangakkara and Dilshan are playing cautious cricket and only going after loose deliveries. Sri Lanka are 40 for the loss of one wicket.

    6th over: It seems Vinay Kumar has found his rythm back. The first over he bowled was a maiden and he is clocking a good speed. Sri Lanka are 25 for the loss of one wicket.

    3rd over: Upul Tharanga out! Zaheer gets the ball to shape out a bit and that was enough to take the outside edge.

    Upul Tharanga c Tendulkar b Zaheer Khan 4 (11)

    Dilshan is in full flow! He hits two flourishing boundaries off Praveen Kumar in the second over.

    1st over: Dhoni starts with Zaheer Khan and Sri Lanka are 3 for no loss.

    9:20: Match referee flips the coin and Sri Lanka skipper Mahela Jayawardene wins the toss and elects to bat first.

    Two changes for India, Virender Sehwag comes in place of Gautam Gambhir and Zaheer Khan in place of Rahul Sharma.


    India: Sachin Tendulkar, Virender Sehwag, Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Ravindra Jadeja, Suresh Raina, MS Dhoni (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Vinay Kumar, Praveen Kumar, Zaheer Khan

    Sri Lanka: Tillakaratne Dilshan, Upul Tharanga, Kumar Sangakkara (wk), Dinesh Chandimal, Mahela Jayawardene(c), Angelo Mathews, Thissara Perera, Lahiru Thirimanne, Nuwan Kulasekara, Lasith Malinga, Dhammika Prasad

    9:15 a.m. It is a typical WACA pitch! Ravi Shashtri and Ian Chappell the track will have true bounce and the batsmen easily play horizontal shots.

    9:10 a.m. Good morning! Welcome to the second match of the tri-series between India and Sri Lanka at the WACA in Perth. Going by the weather in Perth, it would be a bright and sunny day and we expect a full 50-over game on Wednesday.

    The two teams last played against each other during the 2011 World Cup final in Mumbai which India won.

    Virender Sehwag said on Tuesday that he will feature in this clash, which means Tendulkar or Gambhir will make way for the dashing opener.

    Full Scorecard