India to host CLT20 from Sep 17 to Oct 6 this year

Cricketnext Staff | Updated: April 12, 2013, 12:31 PM IST
India to host CLT20 from Sep 17 to Oct 6 this year

New Delhi: The Champions League Twenty20 will be played for the third time in India from September 17 to October 6 this year, the Governing Council of the tournament confirmed that on Friday.

The tournament will follow a similar format to the two previous editions with a group stage preceded by a qualifier. A total of 29 matches will be played in the tournament by the best domestic T20 teams from around the world. It was also confirmed the total prize money of the league will be US $6million.

While Trinidad & Tobago, who were the runners-up in the inaugural edition of the tournament in 2009, have earned direct entry into the Group Stage this year after playing in the Qualifier in 2011 and 2012, no team from England will participate in this year's competition, the release further said.

"The CLT20 will return to India this year. It will be the third time India will host the tournament in five years, after 2009 and 2011. The competition, which will again feature leading cricketers from across the world and some of the established legends of world cricket, will be watched and followed by equally passionate fans," N Srinivasan, Chairman, CLT20 Governing Council, said.

The qualifier will feature four teams - the fourth-ranked team from the IPL 6, Otago Volts (New Zealand's HRV Cup champions), and the winners of the Sri Lanka and Pakistan domestic T20 competitions. The teams will play each other once, with the top two advancing to the group stage.

The group stage will feature 10 teams. Group A will comprise the winner and third-ranked team in the IPL 6, Highveld Lions (winner of South Africa's RAM SLAM T20 Challenge), Perth Scorchers (KFC T20 Big Bash League runner-up), and the top team from the CLT20 2013 qualifier.

Group B will comprise Brisbane Heat (KFC T20 Big Bash League champion), Trinidad & Tobago (West Indies T20 champion), the runner-up in the IPL 6, Titans (RAM SLAM T20 Challenge runner-up), and the second-ranked team from the CLT20 2013 qualifier.

The top team from Group A will play the second-ranked team from Group B, and vice versa, in the semi-finals. The winners of the semis will play in the CLT20 2013 Final on 6 October.

The venues of the CLT20 2013 will be decided at the conclusion of IPL 6, once the top three teams in that tournament are known.

First Published: April 12, 2013, 12:31 PM IST

Team Rankings

1 India 3925 123
2 South Africa 3050 117
3 Australia 3087 100
4 England 3362 99
5 New Zealand 3114 97
FULL Ranking