India to open Champions Trophy campaign against South Africa

Updated: May 1, 2013, 12:28 PM IST
India to open Champions Trophy campaign against South Africa

New Delhi: India will begin their campaign in the the last edition of the ICC Champions Trophy with their Group B match against South Africa at Cardiff on June 6. The biennial tournament is being wound up as the ICC is unable to slot it in the crowded cricketing calendar.

India play their second group game against the West Indies at the Oval on June 11 before running into neighbours Pakistan at Edgbaston on June 15.

There are only two day-night games and curiously, Sri Lanka figure in both, to be played at The Oval - against England on June 13 and against Australia on June 17.

The semifinals are on June 19 and 20 and the final on Sunday, June 23.

Group Standings:

Group A: Australia, England, New Zealand, Sri Lanka

Group B: India, Pakistan, South Africa, West Indies

Champions Trophy schedule:

June 6 : India vs South Africa (day match) at Cardiff

June 7 : West Indies vs Pakistan (d) at The Oval

June 8 : England vs Australia (d) at Edgbaston

June 9 : Sri Lanka vs New Zealand (d) at Cardiff

June 10: Pakistan vs South Africa (d) at Edgbaston

June 11: India vs West Indies (d) at The Oval

June 12: Australia vs New Zealand (d) at Edgbaston

June 13: England vs Sri Lanka (day/night) at The Oval

June 14: West Indies vs South Africa (d) at Cardiff

June 15: India vs Pakistan (d) at Edgbaston

June 16: England vs New Zealand (d) at Cardiff

June 17: Sri Lanka vs Australia (d/n) at The Oval

June 19: (Semifinal) A1 v B2 (d) at The Oval

June 20: (Semifinal) A2 v B1 (d) at Cardiff

June 23: Final (d) at Edgbaston

First Published: May 1, 2013, 12:28 PM IST

Team Rankings

1 India 3925 123
2 South Africa 3050 117
3 Australia 3087 100
4 England 3362 99
5 New Zealand 3114 97
FULL Ranking