Quick Links



    India vs Sri Lanka, Match 8: As it happened

    Indian innings:

    46th over: It's over! Irfan Pathan gives a simple return catch to Perera, who finished with four wickets in his 7.1 overs, as India lose the match by 51 runs.

    I Pathan c & b Perera 47 (34)

    43rd over: Sri Lanka edge ahead as India lose the wicket of Ravichandran Ashwin. Wicketkeeper Kumar Sangakkara takes the catch and the World Champions are just two wickets away from defeat.

    40th over: A couple of fours by Irfan Pathan means that 12 runs have come from the over. The Indians are now making a real match of it. It's 212/6 at the end of the over.

    38th over: A wild swing across the line by Ravindra Jadeja leads to the left-hander being bowled for 17.

    36th over: The batting Powerplay has been taken and after striking a couple of boundaries in the over bowled by Thisara Perera, Kohli perishes to the pull shot for 66. Kulasekara at mid-on takes a simple catch. It's 172/5.

    31st over: Maharoof gets the all-important breakthrough for the Sri Lankans. Raina is the batsman to head back to the pavilion as he glides a ball that bounced on him into the hands of Thirimanne at short cover.

    30th over:
    Virat Kohli brings up his 20th fifty in ODIs. The fourth wicket partnership between Kohli and Raina has kept the Indians in the hunt.

    25th over: Dinesh Chandimal drops Virat Kohli for the second time. A mistimed pull by Kohli goes to Chandimal at deep mid-wicket who puts it down. A few of more of those and India could be well on their way to a successful run chase.

    24th over: Kohli and Raina are batting sensibly in the middle. Duo are rotating the strike well and are picking up the odd boundaries in between. Eight runs came of the over that included a boundary from Kohli at the mid-wicket region. India 111/3.

    21st over: Lucky break this time for Virat Kohli. Thissara Perera bowled short wide of the off stump, Virat Kohli pulls it away straight to Chandimal at deep midwicket, easy catch which is put down. India 94/3 after 21.

    18th over: Some decent bowling is putting more and more pressure on Indian batsmen. Kohli and Raina are not able to pick gaps and run rate is climbing over by over.

    12th over: Kulasekara strikes again for the Lankans. Gambhir tries to unsettle the bowler by playing way outside his crease but only succeeds in unsettling himself. The batsman pays the price for playing away from his body and Perera at gully takes a good catch diving forward.

    Gambhir c Perera b Kulasekara 29

    8th over: And Tendulkar departs! Attempts to leave a delivery going away from him but the ball takes the inside edge and crashes into the stumps. Kulasekara is rewarded for some persistent medium-pace bowling.

    Tendulkar b Kulasekara 22

    3rd over: Tendulkar looks to be in fine touch. A flick off the pads takes his score to 17 as the Indian total progresses to 19/1 at the end of the over.

    1st over: Virender Sehwag slashes at a wide one from Lasith Malinga and Nuwan Kulasekara running in from third man takes a fine catch.

    A second-ball duck from their stand-in captain is not what the Indians needed in their chase of 290.

    Sehwag c Kulasekara b Malinga 0

    Sri Lanka innings:

    50th over: Sehwag brings in Virat Kohli to bowl the last over. Mathews relishes this opportunity and plunders 14 runs off it. After a formidable opening stand and valuable knocks from Thirimanne and Mathews takes Sri Lanka to 289 for six.

    49th over: Thisara Perera out. Going for a long handle shot, Perera completely misses out off a Suresh Raina delivery.

    Dinesh Thirimanne c Raina b Ashwin 62 (62)

    43rd over: Thirimanne scores a fluent half century. With Angelo Mathews at the other end, Sri Lanka can register a good total on the scoreboard.

    40th over: Wait. Confusion out there in the middle because Ashwin stops when he was about to deliver the ball. He removes the bails at the non-striker's end and appeals for a run-out. Umpire Paul Reiffel consults third umpire Billy Bowden and lets Thirimanne go with a warning.

    39th over: Dinesh Chandimal departs. Pathan bowls a perfect yorker that swings in to castle the stumps of Chandimal.

    Dinesh Chandimal b Pathan 38 (49)

    35th over: Youngsters Thirimanne and Chandimal look to up the ante with 15 overs remaining.

    33rd over: Three quick wickets have got India back into the game and also have managed to pull the run-rate down.

    28th over: Team India picks another one, this time Kumar Sangakkara walks back. Umesh Yadav picks up his first scalp of the match. Former skipper goes for the maximum but was well caught by Sachin Tendulkar at fine-leg boundary.

    Kumar Sangakkara c Tendulkar b Yadav 8 (15)

    25th over: With both the openers now back to the pavilion, India tries to peg Sri Lanka back. Sri Lanka are 117 for two.

    22nd over: And here goes Dilshan.
    Dilshan rocks back to play a cut shot off Ashwin and gets a thick edge to Parthiv Patel behind the stumps. It was well caught by the wicketkeeper.

    Tillakaratne Dilshan c Parthiv Patel b Ashwin 51 (72)

    19th over: Mahela Jayawardene out! Irfan Pathan digs in a short ball and Jayawardene in a flash pulls it powerfully but finds Sehwag, who dives to his left to take a stunning catch.

    Mahela Jayawardene c Sehwag b Pathan 45 (55)

    16th over: The Indians have taken their bowling powerplay but will that lead to a change in fortunes for them. We will soon find out.

    12th over: Jayawardene and Dilshan are now toying with the Indian bowling and looking exceedingly comfortable out there. Sri Lanka are 64 for no loss.

    9th over: Vinay Kumar right on the money in this over as he bowls a maiden. Sri Lanka are 52 for no loss.

    6th over: Dilshan attacks Umesh Yadav in his first over and hits him for a six and four. Sri Lanka are 33 for no loss.

    3rd over: Vinay Kumar gets the ball to swing both ways as Sri Lanka are 11 for no loss.

    1st over: Lankan openers Mahela Jayawardene and Tillakaratne Dilshan get off to a watchful start. Sri Lanka one for no loss.

    Mahela Jayawardene and Virender Sehwag walk out to the middle for the toss. Match referee Chris Broad spins the coin, Jayawardene wins the toss and opts to bat first.

    Sri Lanka fields an unchanged side, while India have made three changes.


    Sri Lanka: Tillakaratne Dilshan, Mahela Jayawardene (c), Kumar Sangakkara (wk), Dinesh Chandimal, Lahiru Thirimanne, Angelo Mathews, Thissara Perera, Farveez Maharoof, Nuwan Kulasekara, Lasith Malinga, Rangana Herath

    India: Virender Sehwag (c), Sachin Tendulkar, Gautam Gambhir, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Parthiv Patel (wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Irfan Pathan, Ravichandran Ashwin, Vinay Kumar, Umesh Yadav

    It is hot and humid at the Gabba, says Ian Chappell. The pitch well covered with grass but dead grass and looks good for batting. Chappell also feels, team winning the toss should bat first.

    Good morning and welcome to the 8th match between India and Sri Lanka of the CB series at the Gabba in Brisbane.

    Full Scorecard