Quick Links



    India's tour of New Zealand to start in Napier

    Wellington: India's tour of New Zealand in early 2014 will start at Napier's McLean Park and conclude with the second Test at Auckland. New Zealand Cricket on Tuesday announced the venues for the five ODIs and two Tests the hosts will play against MS Dhoni's team.

    Hamilton will host two ODIs on January 22 and 28. Eden Park (January 25) and Wellington's Westpac Stadium (January 31) will host the other two ODIs. Auckland's Eden Park, with its bigger capacity, was preferred to Hamilton's Seddon Park to stage the first Test from February 6-10 and Wellington's Basin Reserve was confirmed as the venue for the second Test from February 14-18.

    "The Indian team are a huge drawcard throughout the world so the opportunity to host them on a Sunday in January will be fantastic for the region," said Central Districts chief executive Hugh Henderson.

    This is India's first tour to New Zealand since 2009.

    India's itinerary:

    1st ODI, Napier - January 19
    2nd ODI, Hamilton - January 22
    3rd ODI, Auckland - January 25
    4th ODI, Hamilton- January 28
    5th ODI, Wellington - January 31
    Warm-up match, Whangarei - February 2-3
    1st Test, Auckland - February 6-10
    2nd Test, Wellington - February 14-18