Quick Links



    Who will succeed BS Yeddyurappa?

    New Delhi: BJP Parliamentray Board on Thursday decided to send senior leaders Rajnath Singh and Arun Jaitley as observers to Bangalore on Friday to oversee the election of Karnataka BS Yeddyurappa's successor.

    Who will succeed the Karanataka chief minister and will he go without a fight? Ananth Kumar, Jagdish Shettar and KS Eshwarappa are in the fray.

    Jagdish Shettar, who is the Rural Development Minister is a front-runner for the post. An MLA from Hubli, Shettar is a Lingayat by caste. He was the leader of Opposition in 1999 when SM Krishna was the chief minister of Karnataka.

    Karnataka state BJP chief KS Eshwarappa is also a strong contender for the post. This OBC leader is considered to be close to the RSS. He is Yeddyurappa's biggest rival and is also facing corruption chages, two factor sthat could go against him.

    Ananth Kumar, the BJP National General Secretary, and Yeddyurappa's main detractor,
    has also thrown his hat into the ring. However, chances look slim for this Bangalore South Lok Sabha MP.

    Among the dark horses are Higher Education Minister VS Acharya. A Brahmin by caste, sources say that Yeddyurappa may concede to the BJP MLA from Udupi.

    The name of Law Minister Suresh Kumar, who has close RSS ties, is also doing the rounds. The Karnataka chief minister may concede to this Brahmin MLA from Bangalore.