Quick Links



    IPL 6: Pune Warriors India eye first win against Punjab

    Pune: Pune Warriors India look to move on from their Friday's defeat against Sunrisers Hyderabad when they play Kings XI Punjab at the Subrata Roy Sahara Stadium on Sunday.

    The Pune batsmen had a horrible outing against Hyderabad on Friday as they failed to chase down an innocuous-looking target of 127. It was a very disappointing batting performance from a team that has big names like Yuvraj Singh, Marlon Samules and Ross Taylor in its ranks.

    Punjab, under the leadership of Australian legend Adam Gilchrist, are playing their first match of the tournament that began on April 3. They put up a spirited performance in the 2012 IPL season but fell marginally short of qualifying for the play-offs.

    This year Punjab bought Luke Pomersbach and Manpreet Gony in the February auction and also signed Sandeep Sharma, Manan Vohra and Aniket Choudhary. They have a good mix of overseas and Indian players but what they lack is a reliable name in their squad.

    Gilchrist will have to step up and deliver in order to galvanize the side. Last edition, he came a cropper and since then he hasn't played any competitive cricket. Gilchrist apart, the likes of Azhar Mahmood, Dimitri Mascarenhas, David Hussey and Ryan Harris bring plenty of experience to the side.

    Pune's record against Punjab is very encouraging. Of four ties so far over the last two seasons, they have won three and lost one. However, one can not go by stats in this format as over and over again the underdogs have put the skids under the favourites.

    Probable teams:

    Pune Warriors India: 1 Robin Uthappa (wk) 2 Manish Pandey 3 Marlon Samuels 4 Yuvraj Singh 5 Ross Taylor 6 Abhishek Nayar 7 Angelo Mathews (c) 8 Mitchell Marsh 9 Bhuvneshwar Kumar 10 Rahul Sharma 11 Ashok Dinda

    Kings XI Punjab: Adam Gilchrist (c) 2 Paul Valthaty 3 Shaun Marsh 4 David Hussey 5 Mandeep Singh 6 Azhar Mahmood 7 Gurkeerat Singh Mann 8 Parvinder Awana 9 Praveen Kumar 10 Piyush Chawla 11 Rajagopal Sathish