Quick Links



    IPL Auction 2014 creates new Indian crorepatis

    The final day of the 2014 IPL Players' Auction belonged to the uncapped players who will now be looked upon as the new millionaires created by the cash-rich Twenty20 league, which will enter its seventh season later this year.

    When everyone thought that stalwarts like Ross Taylor and Mahela Jayawardene will rule day two after remaining unsold on Wednesday, names like Karan Sharma, Rishi Dhawan, Kedar Jadhav and Gurkeerat Mann laughed their way to the bank to deposit crores.

    The top-earner of the day turned out to be Railways' legspinner Karan Sharma, who invited a bidding war before being finally bought back by his last year's employer Sunrisers Hyderabad.

    But before Sharma came to the table, Rishi Dhawan banked the most. The Himachal Pradesh bowler, who was the highest wicket-taker of this Ranji Trophy season, will now be seen playing for Kings XI Punjab in IPL 7 after appearing for current IPL champions Mumbai Indians last year. Punjab paid as many as Rs. 3 crore to bring him under their umbrella.

    Among the other notable buys, batsman Kedar Jadhav was bought back by Delhi Daredevils for Rs. 2 crore, Manish Pandey by Kolkata Knight Riders for Rs. 1.7 cr, Gurkeerat Mann for Rs. 1.3 crore by Punjab and Ishwar Pandey for Rs. 1.2 crore by Chennai Super Kings.

    Luck, however, didn't smile on some of the renowned international cricketers like Mahela Jayawardene who remained unsold despite being brought back onto the auction table. Other with Jayawardene, other notable names who didn't generate any interest were Darren Bravo, Martin Guptill, Cameron White, Marlon Samuels, Luke Ronchi, Angelo Mathews, David Hussey and Luke Wright. Ross Taylor, however, was thrown a rope by Delhi, who bought him at his base price of Rs. 2 crore.

    Here's a list of the new uncapped million-dollar babies from India:

    1. Karan Sharma - Rs. 3.75 crore - Hyderabad
    2. Rishi Dhawan - Rs. 3 crore - Punjab
    3. Kedar Jadhav - Rs. 2 crore - Delhi
    4. Manish Pandey - Rs. 1.7 crore - Kolkata
    5. Rajat Bhatia - Rs. 1.7 crore - Rajasthan
    6. Aditya Tare - Rs. 1.6 crore - Mumbai
    7. Mayank Agarwal - Rs. 1.6 crore - Delhi
    8. Gurkeerat Mann - Rs. 1.3 - Punjab
    9. Ishwar Pandey - Rs. 1.2 crore - Chennai
    10. Jasprit Bumrah - Rs. 1.2 crore - Mumbai
    11. Dhawal Kulkarni - Rs. 1.1 crore - Rajasthan
    12. KL Rahul - Rs. 1 crore - Hyderabad