Quick Links



    IPL Auction 2014: Everything you want to know

    Even as the IPL faces another high-tide period with the menace of betting and fixing in the league appearing to turn from allegation into ground reality, Rs. 274.50 crore will be put on the table by its eight franchises at the 2014 players' auction beginning Wednesday.

    A complete makeover of most teams in store adds to the excitement when bidding starts on Wednesday with 16 marquee players who will have the base price of Rs. 2 crore each.

    Another couple of firsts at the auction will be the presence of uncapped players in the pool and bidding in Indian rupees instead of US dollars. Here's all you want to know before the auction beginning February 12.


    The list of 514 names includes 219 capped players (169 Indians and 50 overseas players) and 292 uncapped players (255 Indians and 37 overseas players). The Associate ICC members will be represented by Ireland's Niall and Kevin O'Brien and Ryan Ten Doeschate of the Netherlands.

    As per the tweaked player/auction regulations, each squad must include no less than 16 and no more than 27 players, of which up to 9 may be overseas players. There are 30 players with maximum base price of Rs 2 crore, including 11 Indians.

    Marquee players

    16 marquee players divided into two sets of each will be the first to go under the hammer. The two sets include Virender Sehwag, Kevin Pietersen, Jacques Kallis, Yuvraj Singh, Mahela Jayawardene, Mitchell Johnson, M Vijay, David Warner, George Bailey, Faf du Plessis, Michael Hussey, Dinesh Karthik, Zaheer Khan, Brendon McCullum, Amit Mishra and Darren Sammy.

    That will follow auction according to specialisation, i.e.d, batsman, fast bowler, spinner, allrounder and wicketkeeper.

    In all likelihood the 292 uncapped players will be auctioned on February 13.


    * Auction to be held on Wednesday 12 and, if necessary, Thursday 13 February 2014
    * IPL league fee for all players to be denominated in Indian rupees
    * Overseas players to be paid in the currency of their choice at the prevailing exchange rate on either the actual date of payment or contract due date, whichever is beneficial to the player
    * All players (capped or uncapped, Indian or overseas, those who did or did not play in IPL in 2013) must enter the 2014 player auction process if they want to play in the IPL in 2014. The only exceptions are those who are retained in advance (see below)
    * Only players who enter the player auction process (but are not taken by a franchise during the player auction) are eligible to be taken as a replacement during the 2014 season
    * The format of the 2014 player auction will be broadly similar to that of the 2013 Player Auction with the addition that each franchise will have a number of 'rights to match' which it may exercise during the course of the auction for any players who were in its squad in 2013
    * The number of 'rights to match' available to a franchise will depend on the number of players that the franchise retained in advance:

    - If three or more players are retained, then only one 'right to match' during the auction.
    - If one or two players are retained, then two 'rights to match' during the auction.
    - If no players are retained, then three 'rights to match' during the auction.


    * Once the bidding for any player who was in a franchise's 2013 squad is complete and the auctioneer is satisfied that no more bids will be forthcoming, the auctioneer will bring down the hammer, declare the player 'sold' and then ask the franchise previously owning that player if it wishes to exercise one of its remaining 'rights to match'
    * If the franchise chooses to exercise the 'right to match', the franchise will take the player for the amount of the final bid that had been made in the player auction
    * No further bidding by any other franchises is possible
    * Franchises may take no more than 4 capped Indian players via a combination of retention prior to the auction and the 'right to match'.


    Chennai Super Kings: MS Dhoni (Rs. 12.5 crore), Suresh Raina (Rs. 9.5 crore), Ravindra Jadeja (Rs. 7.5 crore), Ravichandran Ashwin (Rs. 5.5 crore), Dwayne Bravo (Rs. 4 crore)
    Remaining purse: Rs. 21 crore
    Right-To-Match cards: One

    Kings XI Punjab: David Miller (Rs. 12.5 crore), Manan Vohra (Rs. 4 crore)
    Remaining purse: Rs. 43.5 crore
    Right-To-Match cards: Two

    Kolkata Knight Riders Gautam Gambhir (Rs. 12.5 crore), Sunil Narine (Rs. 9.5 crore)
    Remaining purse: Rs. 38 crore
    Right-To-Match cards: Two

    Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma (Rs 12.5 crore), Lasith Malinga (Rs 9.5 crore), Kieron Pollard (Rs 7.5 crore), Harbhajan Singh (Rs 5.5 crore), Ambati Rayudu (Rs 4 crore)
    Remaining purse: Rs. 21 crore
    Right-To-Match cards: One

    Rajasthan Royals: Shane Watson (Rs 12.5 crore), James Faulkner (Rs 9.5 crore), Ajinkya Rahane (Rs 7.5 crore), Stuart Binny (Rs 5.5 crore), Sanju Samson (Rs 4 crore)
    Remaining purse: Rs. 21 crore
    Right-To-Match cards: One

    Royal Challengers Bangalore: Virat Kohli (Rs 12.5 crore), Chris Gayle (Rs 9.5 crore), AB de Villiers (Rs 7.5 crore)
    Remaining purse: Rs. 30.5 crore
    Right-To-Match cards: One

    Sunrisers Hyderabad: Shikhar Dhawan (Rs 12.5 crore), Dale Steyn (Rs 9.5 crore)
    Remaining purse: Rs. 38 crore
    Right-To-Match cards: Two

    Delhi Daredevils: No players retained.
    Remaining purse: Rs. 60 crore
    Right-To-Match cards: Three