Quick Links



    IPL6 auction: Who brings how much in the purse

    New Delhi: Sunday's Indian Premier League (IPL-6) auction is less than 24 hours, and with 101 players to go under hammer, all the nine franchisees will vie for some top players in the pool, including the likes of Michael Clarke and Ricky Ponting, both of whom have attracted the top base price of $400,000.

    The owners must have their wish-lists in the front pocket, but before they could raise the bids for their favourite players, a look at what's in the purse will do no harm, for there's limit to how much they can spend to take the players home.

    Among the nine IPL franchises, Rajasthan Royals enjoy the most dollars at their disposal with a purse of $7.7 million. Meanwhile, Delhi Daredevis will have to be extra intelligent about what they want, as the GMR-owned team has just $1.41 million in their wallet.

    Hyderabad's new owners Sun Network will undoubtedly be the most interested and excited bidder - with this being their first appearance in the auction after they acquired the Deccan Chargers and renamed it has Sunrisers Hyderabad.

    Here are the team-wise funds available for IPL-6 Auction:

    Rajasthan Royals: $7,701,304
    Sunrisers Hyderabad: $7,003,696
    Kings XI Punjab: $6,872,826
    Pune Warriors India: $3,304,130
    Chennai Super Kings: $3,131,087
    Royal Challengers Bangalore: $2,526,522
    Mumbai Indians: $2,341,739
    Kolkata Knight Riders: $2,183,696
    Delhi Daredevils: $1,415,978

    Existing number of players per team:

    Pune Warriors India: 29 (21 Indian, 8 overseas)
    Royal Challengers Bangalore: 24 (18 Indian, 6 overseas)
    Mumbai Indians: 23 (17 Indian, 6 overseas)
    Delhi Daredevils: 23 (15 Indian, 8 overseas)
    Kolkata Knight Riders: 21 (12 Indian, 9 overseas)
    Kings XI Punjab: 21 (14 Indian, 7 overseas)
    Sunrisers Hyderabad: 20 (14 Indian, 6 overseas)
    Rajasthan Royals: 18 (11 Indian, 7 overseas)
    Chennai Super Kings: 17 (11 Indian, 6 overseas)

    Note: Each team can have a maxiumm of 33 players in the squad, including not more than 11 overseas players.