Quick Links



    KKR, DD to face off on IPL 6 opening day

    New Delhi: Kolkata Knight Riders, the current IPL champions, and Delhi Daredevils will play each other on the opening of the sixth season of the IPL on April 3 at Eden Gardens. The sixth edition of the tournament will comprise nine teams, including the debut of the Sunrisers Hyderabad franchise – which came into existence in October after the disbarring of the Deccan Chargers – who will play their first match against Pune Warriors India on April 5. Each of the nine teams will play each other twice, home and away. The top four teams from the group stage on May 19 will qualify for the IPL playoffs. The Qualifier 1 and Eliminator games will be played at Chennai’s MA Chidambaram Stadium on May 21 and 22, while the Qualifier 2 and final will be held at Eden Gardens on May 24 and 26 respectively.Apart from the nine franchise’s home venues, the HPCA Stadium in Dharamsala – which has hosted seven IPL matches since 2010 – will host Kings XI Punjab’s final two matches and the KSCA International Stadium Complex in Ranchi will host KKR for their last two fixtures. “The countdown to PEPSI IPL 2013 has begun. We are poised to witness a competition that will be as, if not more, spectacular, than its predecessors. The greatest cricketers on this planet will join forces with the stars of the future, to deliver some exhilarating cricket for their respective teams. The teams will play hard, but fair, and the most consistent of the lot will be crowned the PEPSI IPL 2013 Champion on 26 May 2013,” said Rajeev Shukla, the IPL chairman.