Quick Links



    Kohli nominated for two top ICC awards

    Dubai: India's Virat Kohli, the leading run-scorer in ODIs in 2012, has earned nominations in two of the top three categories at the annual ICC cricket awards – the ICC and ODI Cricketer of the Year. Leading the list of nominations at the ninth edition of the ICC awards are Saeed Ajmal, Hashim Amla, Alastair Cook, Michael Clarke and Kumar Sangakkara who have been nominated in each of the three top categories. The five players feature in the long-list of nominees for the ICC and ODI Cricketer of the Year, while West Indies’ Stafanie Taylor features in the first ICC’s Women’s ODI Cricketer of the Year and Women’s T2oI Cricketer of the Year long-lists. This is the first instance of the men’s and women’s voting academy being in operation and awards have also become fully integrated. Taylor has also become the first women’s cricketer to be long-listed for the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy, to be held on September 15 in Colombo ahead of the ICC World Twenty20. The long-lists were put together by a five-man selection panel chaired by former West Indies captain and current chairman of the ICC cricket committee, Clive Lloyd. The other members of the panel were Marvan Atapattu, Carl Hooper, Tom Moody and Clare Connor. The players were selected based on their performances between August 4, 2011 and August 6, 2012. Kohli, 23, has scored 1733 runs in 31 ODI innings at an average of 66.65 during the period considered for voting. In Tests during that same time, he scored 415 runs from five innings at 41.50. This year’s awards include 11 individual prizes, including the People’s Choice Award that will be chosen by fans around the world online, and also feature the selection of the Test and ODI Teams of the Year. Five cricketers - Sangakkara, Sachin Tendulkar, Vernon Philander, Jacques Kallis and James Anderson - were selected by the ICC selection panel for the People’s Choice Award and released to the public for voting earlier this month. In addition, this year sees the creation of the two women’s awards for which Taylor has been nominated. The ICC CEO David Richardson said the awards presented "a wonderful opportunity for the ICC, along with thousands of cricket fans, to acknowledge and reward the brilliant performances of the world’s best cricketers". Long-lists of nominees (in alphabetical order; each category will be reduced to a short-list in due course) Individual Awards ICC Cricketer of the Year (Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy) – Male or Female: Saeed Ajmal (Pak), Hashim Amla (SA), Stuart Broad (Eng), Michael Clarke (Aus), Alastair Cook (Eng), Virat Kohli (Ind), Vernon Philander (SA), Kumar Sangakkara (SL) and Stafanie Taylor (WI). ICC Test Cricketer of the Year: Saeed Ajmal (Pak), Hashim Amla (SA), Stuart Broad (Eng), Shivnarine Chanderpaul (WI), Michael Clarke (Aus), Alastair Cook (Eng), Jacques Kallis (SA), Vernon Philander (SA), Matt Prior (Eng), Marlon Samuels (WI), Kumar Sangakkara (SL), Dale Steyn (SA) and AB de Villiers (SA). ICC Men’s ODI Cricketer of the Year: Shahid Afridi (Pak), Saeed Ajmal (Pak), Michael Clarke (Aus), Alastair Cook (Eng), MS Dhoni (Ind), Steven Finn (Eng), Gautam Gambhir (Ind), Shakib Al Hasan (Bang), Virat Kohli (Ind), Lasith Malinga (SL), Brendon McCullum (NZ), Morne Morkel (SA), Sunil Narine (WI), Kumar Sangakkara (SL), Brendan Taylor (Zim) and Shane Watson (Aus). ICC Women’s ODI Cricketer of the Year: Jess Cameron (Aus), Shanel Daley (WI), Lydia Greenaway (Eng), Anisa Mohammed (WI), Mithali Raj (Ind), Sarah Taylor (Eng) and Stafanie Taylor (WI). ICC Women’s T20I Cricketer of the Year: Jess Cameron (Aus), Shanel Daley (WI), Alyssa Healy (Aus), Anisa Mohammed (WI), Mithali Raj (Ind), Lisa Sthalekar (Aus), Sarah Taylor (Eng) and Stafanie Taylor (WI). ICC Emerging Cricketer of the Year: Trent Boult (NZ), Doug Bracewell (NZ), Dinesh Chandimal (SL), Pat Cummins (Aus), Nasir Hossain (Bang), Junaid Khan (Pak), Nathan Lyon (Aus), Tino Mawoyo (Zim), Sunil Narine (WI), James Pattinson (Aus), Lahiru Thirimanne (SL) and Matthew Wade (Aus). ICC Associate and Affiliate Cricketer of the Year: Shaiman Anwar (UAE), Peter Borren (Neth), George Dockrell (Ire), Trent Johnston (Ire), Ed Joyce (Ire), John Mooney (Ire), Kevin O’Brien (Ire), Hiran Patel (Can), Paul Stirling (Ire) and Dawlat Zadran (Afg). ICC Spirit of Cricket Award: Mohammad Hafeez (Pak), Jacques Kallis (SA), Kieron Pollard (WI), Daniel Vettori (NZ) and AB de Villiers (SA). ICC Umpire of the Year (David Shepherd Trophy): Billy Bowden, Aleem Dar, Steve Davis, Kumar Dharmasena, Billy Doctrove, Marais Erasmus, Ian Gould, Tony Hill, Richard Kettleborough, Nigel Llong, Asad Rauf, Simon Taufel and Rod Tucker LG People’s Choice Award: James Anderson (Eng), Jacques Kallis (SA), Vernon Philander (SA), Kumar Sangakkara (SL) and Sachin Tendulkar (Ind).